Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources Covering the 19th Century
Call Number: UNI Fine & Performing Arts Collection Reference N 72 .S6B55 2005
Drawing upon socioeconomic and political studies as well as histories of religion, science, literature, and popular culture, this book explores the diverse, conflicted history of American art and architecture within the United States--from the European voyages of discovery and colonial conquest to the present dawn of the new millennium.
The Design Encyclopedia
Call Number: UNI Fine & Performing Arts Collection Reference NK 1370 .B93 1994
This definitive encyclopedia covers all elements associated with decoration and design in eastern and western Europe, Australia, North and South America and Japan. Over 3000 entries form a compendium of designers, firms, movements, styles and materials in the design world from the 19th century to the present. Features lists of major design exhibitions and fairs worldwide, ranging from the 1851 Great Exhibition in London through the 1992 Seville Expo to a Pan-Russian Exhibition in Moscow in 1882. Every entry includes dates, biography, details of design education and influences, exhibitions and awards, an in-depth discussion of important designs plus a complete bibliography covering publications in all languages.
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Call Number: UNI Reference E 661 .E53 2005 (3 volumes)
Spanning the era from the end of Reconstruction (1877) to 1920, the entries of this reference were chosen with attention to the people, events, inventions, political developments, organizations, and other forces that led to significant changes in the U.S. in that era. Seventeen initial stand-alone essays describe as many themes, including technolog
Groundbreaking Scientific Experiments, Inventions, and Discoveries of the 19th Century
Call Number: UNI Stacks Q 125 .W79173 2003
The 19th century is known as the modern era of science. Many of the ideas, theories, and inventions developed during this time are used everyday in today's society. Windelspecht investigates the century's tremendous discoveries, inventions, and inquiries in more than 60 alphabetical entries. This reference presents familiar subjects, such as the telephone and elevator, as well as those less frequently studied, such as the spectroscope and Pasteur's development of the germ theory. Readers will find a thorough discussion of each entry's scientific impact and gain an understanding of the lasting social and political importance of these advancements. Narratives enrich many of the entries by adding perspective to the century's fascinating history. Students and researchers will find this reference book easy to use. An appendix of entries listed by scientific field, a glossary of terms, and name and subject indexes make this the perfect, easy-to-use reference for anyone interested in the scientific revolutions of the 19th.
Historical Dictionary of American Theater
Call Number: UNI Fine & Performing Arts Collection Reference PN 2266.3 .F57 2008
The fifty-year period from 1880 to 1929 is the richest era for theater in American history, certainly in the great number of plays produced and artists who contributed significantly, but also in the centrality of theater in the lives of Americans. As the impact of European modernism began to gradually seep into American theater during the 1880s and quite importantly in the 1890s, more traditional forms of theater gave way to futurism, symbolism, surrealism, and expressionism. American playwrights like Eugene O'Neill, George Kelly, Elmer Rice, Philip Barry, and George S. Kaufman ushered in the Golden Age of American drama. The Historical Dictionary of American Theater: Modernism focuses on legitimate drama, both as influenced by European modernism and as impacted by the popular entertainment that also enlivened the era. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on plays; music; playwrights; great performers like Maude Adams, Otis Skinner, Julia Marlowe, and E.H. Sothern; producers like David Belasco, Daniel Frohman, and Florenz Ziegfield; critics; architects; designers; and costumes.
Historical Dictionary of Socialism
Call Number: UNI Stacks HX 17 .D63 1997
This dictionary offers a reliable, comprehensive introduction and guide to this contentious social movement and ideology, examining where it has succeeded and where it has failed. It traces the evolution of socialism from the early nineteenth century to the present.
Nineteenth-Century American Women Writers
Call Number: UNI Reference PS 217 .W64N56 1997
Charts are an excellent reference resource for students! Each measures 17” x 22” and includes a resource guide on the back. They are also available in a variety of topics, colors, and prints to support any classroom unit!
Railroads of the 19th Century
Call Number: UNI Stacks HE 2751 .R1429 1988
This landmark reference chronicles the story of many major U.S. industries from their beginnings to the present day and offers a wealth of information on each industry, including key figures, corporations, inventions, technologies, historical background, marketing concepts, regulations, and legislation. This volume traces the origins of the American railroad industry during the 1820s and its great growth throughout the nineteenth century.