Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use databases to find articles
Search for your topic in the following databases which may be found in the Databases A-Z listing on the Rod Library homepage under the Articles tab. ABI/Inform, Business Knowledge Research, EconLit, Fed in Print, and NBER Working Papers are sources of economic history. The remaining databases cover history in general and should be useful in indentifying articles on the impact of the Great Depression on society.
Also try the following:
Fed in Print (index to Federal Reserve Research)
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
FRASER - Data & Statistics
See also: Google Scholar
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
"The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal." Several datasets are also available.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
America: History & Life indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Business Knowledge Research (Conference Board)
Major studies, short reports, and periodical articles on a variety of business topics
Cambridge Core (Cambridge University Press)
Cambridge Core is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press's collection of leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
American Economic Association's database is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL)--reliable source of citations & abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory & much more.
A collection of online reference books on a wide variety of topics.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. For the history of the United States and Canada, see the database America: History & Life.
Ingenta ConnectComplete is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service providing access to thousands of online journals from leading scholarly, academic and business publishers.
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
NBER Working Papers
The National Bureau of Economic Research publishes working papers in all major fields of economics. About 700 are written each year, and many are later published in scholarly journals.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. It is possible to display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse individual issues page by page.
Oxford Journals (Oxford University Press)
Search journals published by Oxford University Press.
Project MUSE provides 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, & social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Search SAGE journal articles.
Google Scholar Advanced Search
Click HERE to go to Google Scholar Advanced Search.
Find Theses & Dissertations