Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: Reference E174 .T47 2000
Covers the period immediately preceding the American Revolution to the present, including political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, and cultural developments and events.
Dictionary of American History, 3rd edition, v.1-10
Call Number: Internet - Electronic Book 2003
Volumes 1 through 8 contain essays on historical topics listed alphabetically. Individual persons are covered only with regard to their involvement in events and movements. Volume 9 , pages 1-78 contain reprints of maps of historical interest. Pages 79 through 532 contains the reprints of primary source documents. Volume 10 contains a list of contributors, a learning guide and an index for the set.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: Reference E185 .E54 2006 (6 volumes)
Six-volume encyclopedia includes signed articles with references on a variety of people, places, events, and issues. Alphabetical index of articles, along with an index of biographical entries by profession. Includes some maps.
Dictionary of Asian American History
Call Number: Stacks E184.O6 D53 1986
An informative and well-crafted volume with nearly 800 entries that review the key facts of Asian American and Pacific American history....This work, the first in its field, will be an essential reference for academic and public libraries. Choice
Encyclopedia of American History
Call Number: Reference E174.5 .E52 1996
A one volume reference designed to be read as a narrative. It presents all the essential facts about the US in chronological order and should be a useful resource for the home, school and office.
Historical Dictionary of the 1920s: From World War I to the New Deal, 1919-1933
Call Number: Reference E784 .O44 1988
Brief essays on individuals, organizations, legislation, and social phenomena of the period. Entries include bibliographic citations. Library also has companion volumes Historical Dictionary of the Progressive Era, 1890-1920 (Reference E 661 H6 1988) and Historical Dictionary of the New Deal: From Inauguration to Preparation for War (Reference E 806 H58 1985).
The Oxford Companion to United States History
Call Number: Reference E174 .O94 2001
This source contains an alphabetical listing of essays on historical topics and people. Cross references are made at the end of each essay referring the user to closely related topics. For example, a user can look up a person of historical interest and be referred to an event or movement in which this person paid a key role.
Black/White Relations in American History
Call Number: Stacks E185.61 .T57 1998
An annotated bibliography of more than 700 significant works concerning the function of race in American history. It evaluates the most important historical, sociological, and psychological studies published since 1944. An introductory chapter describes and evaluates key general works on the origin and meaning of race and race relations. After the introduction, chapters are arranged in chronological order. All consequential studies of slavery on the national, state, and local level are included with a brief synthesis of the major findings of the study. The book continues through the Civil War, the Reconstruction, segregation and Jim Crow, up to and including the ongoing Civil Rights movement begun in the late 1950s. A final chapter includes works that attempt to imagine the cost economically, socially, and politically of black/white racism and discrimination in the United States."
Bibliographies contain lists of articles and books covering a specific area of study. Use bibliographies to help identify history resources.
Comprehensive and topical bibliographies in U.S. history may be identified through a UNISTAR search which combines a subject term or significant word (in a WORDS search) with the term "bibliography." Among the titles to be found in the Library collection are:
The War of the American Revolution: A Selected Annotated Bibliography of Published Sources
Call Number: Stacks Z1238 .B55 1984
A classified bibliography of over 3,700 English-language works published before 1981. Topical divisions include causes of the war, campaigns and battles, the American navy, the British army, and the impact of war on society. Covers traditional military and diplomatic subjects and the social history of the period. Brief annotations, with indicators of likely audience (e.g., general reader, specialist). Author and subject indexes.