Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Biographies of Historic Figures
American Political Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
Call Number: Stacks E176 .O27 1991
Over 400 brief entries about men and women elected or nominated to national office, appointed by the president, or specially prominent in other positions. Includes presidential candidates, secretaries of state, diplomats, government agency directors, senators and members of congress. Bibliographies; some portraits. Includes a time line covering all subjects.
Biographical Dictionary of the American Left
Call Number: Stacks HX84.A2 B56 1986
Attempts to balance key figures with lesser known contributors to leftist movements. Emphasis is on 19th and early 20th centuries. Entries include brief bibliographies. Appendices cover political party affiliation, place of birth, birth date, ethnic origin, and other characteristics.
Call Number: Index/Abstract CT 100 B48
Library has: v.1 (Jan.1946/July 1949)-v.36 (2010/11)
Alphabetical entries for biographical materials in periodicals and books. Indexes obituaries, diaries, memoirs, book reviews and bibliographies. List of subjects organized by profession or occupation. Quarterly, with annual cumulations.
Notable American Women, 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: Reference CT3260 .N57 (3 volumes)
A milestone work in the history of American women. 3-volume collection of articles of varying length on significant women who died before January 1, 1951. Entries include brief bibliographies. Classified index. Library also has companion volume, Notable American Women: The Modern Period (Reference CT 3260 N573).
Databases Useful in Identifying Biographical Information in Publications
Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Thomson Gale)
This database finds citations to biographical entries located in biographical reference sources. On the home page, type the name of the person in which you are interested. You may enter the name in any order (last, first or first last) or you may enter as much of the spelling of the last name as you know. When you find a source citation in this index, search for the title of the source in UNISTAR to see if that source is in Rod Library's collections.
GALE IN CONTEXT, Biography
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.