Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use databases to find articles
GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from many leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. This database is brought to you by the Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa using local funds and the State Library of Iowa using federal LSTA funds administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and is available to anyone in Iowa
even without a CatID.
The following databases will identify articles written about the history of the United States. You may find these on the Rod Library home page under the Articles tab. Click on Databases A-Z to find the database you need.
If you are looking for history in a specific subject area, try searching databases in that subject area. These may be identified by clicking on Subjects A-Z. For example, you want something on the history of the theory of relativity. First, identify the databases in this area (mathematics) and then search them by entering "theory of relativity" and history.
Also try Google Scholar to identify articles.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
America: History & Life indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Cambridge Core (Cambridge University Press)
Cambridge Core is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press's collection of leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. It is possible to display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse individual issues page by page.
Project MUSE provides 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, & social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Search SAGE journal articles.
Find Theses & Dissertations