Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Politics: United States: Directories & Encyclopedias

Directories, Encyclopedias and Handbooks

State Yellow Book

UNI Reference JK 2403 .S77
"Who's who in the executive and legislative branches of the 50 state governments."

Congressional Quarterly Almanac
UNI Reference JK1 .C66
This source includes legislative histories, significant bills, appropriations, vote studies and public laws.

Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations

UNI Reference D 860 .M56 20002
This volume includes information on the location, people and culture, language and religion, and national history of ethnic and national groups from around the world. Native American groups are included here.

Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System
UNI Reference JF 501 .E53 1994
Volume I includes: The American Legislative System in Historical Context and Legislative Recruitment, Personnel, and Elections. Volume II includes: Legislative Structures and Processes and Legislative Behavior. Volume III includes: Legislatures and Public Policy and Legislatures within the Political System.

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
UNI Reference JK 511 .E53 1993
This four volume work includes over 1,000 articles which "capture the origin, evolution, and the constant unfolding of the American presidency." Biographical sketches focusing on the presidents' years in the presidency are included.

Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
UNI Reference JK 1067 .E63 1995
This 4 volume source includes comprehensive essays on the "major elements of Congress as an institution: its constitutional powers, rules and procedures, committee system,...budget process, political parties, work load and staffing."

Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America
UNI Reference JK 2261 .E474 2000
This 3 volume set includes: Part One: Third parties in History; Part Two: Third-Party Maps; Part Three: American third Parties; Part Four: Biographies.

State Manuals and Registers
(located in UNI Reference from JK 2442 through JK 9271)
Here are included registers (blue books) for states of the United States.

Directories, Encyclopedias and Handbooks