Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Politics: United States: Biographies

Sources of Biographical Information

Citizen Action Encyclopedia
UNI Reference JS 303.5 .H35 2002
This book profiles 160 organizations that "succeeded in effecting changes in the legal system, societal values, or the political landscape." Also included are 88 citizen activists who achieved prominence in some area of activism or dissent.

Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
UNI Reference JK 511 .E53 1993
This four volume work includes over 1,000 articles which "capture the origin, evolution, and the constant unfolding of the American presidency." Biographical sketches focusing on the presidents' years in the presidency are included.

Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America
UNI Reference JK 2261 .E474 2000
This 3 volume set includes: Part One: Third parties in History; Part Two: Third-Party Maps; Part Three: American third Parties; Part Four: Biographies.

Presidential Administrative Profiles for Students
UNI Reference JK 511 .P78 2000
This publication provides profiles of the presidents, arranged chronologically by their administration. Basic biographical information is included along with their education, life before and after the presidency, their career, and their presidency.

Also try the following databases which are available on the Rod Library home page in the Databases A-Z list under the Articles tab.