Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Politics: United States: Internet Sources

Internet Sources of Political Information

American Radicalism Collection by Michigan State University
"The emphasis in the collection is on materials produced by radical groups - both left and right." The collection includes many digitized alternative newspapers and periodical titles which are indexed in the Alternative Press Index, 1969- (UNI Index/Abstract AI3 .A27).

ANES: American National Election Studies 

CQ's Politics in America
The "insiders guide to congress."

Declassified State Department & Other Agency Documents by U.S. State Department
A searchable collection of declassified documents from the U.S. State Department and some South and Central American countries.

Digital Librarian by Margaret Vail Anderson

Dispatch Magazine by U.S. State Department
This site includes issues from 1997 - 1999. For issues 1990 - 1996, see U.S. Department of State Electronic Archives (University of Illinois, Chicago), Electronic Research Collections. Click on Dispatch Magazine under "Briefings and Statements."

GPOAccess
Access to services, resources by branch, and resources by topic.

Institute of Governmental Studies by University of California, Berkeley
Includes papers from 1999 to the present. Also includes a link to the bimonthly periodical Public Affairs Report, issues Spring 2002 through the current issue.

National Governors Association

National Security Archive by George Washington University
"The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)."

Papers of the Presidents of the United States: Search
1992- Jan.-Jul.; 1993-
Searchable database.

Political Science Digital Library by Academic Info
Contains some historical documents such as the Revolutionary Diplomatic Correspondence of the United States through more recent testimony and speeches in various political science areas.

Political Science Sources by Academic Info
Includes many political science sources.

Statistical Abstract of the United States by U.S. Census Bureau
Site includes a section index to PDF files for 1995 through 2002.

THOMAS
Legislative Information on the Internet.

Treaties and Agreements (in force) by U.S. State Department
Treaties in force as of January 1 of each year.

USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal.

U.S. State Department

Sources with Additional Links

American Government & Society by University of Nevada, Reno

Foreign Affairs Online by Dr. Robert J. Beck, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Gateways to Political Science and Government Information by University of Nevada, Reno

Political Theory by University of Nevada, Reno

Public Administration and Public Policy by University of Nevada, Reno

The Ultimate Political Science Links Page

Search Engines & Directories

Google’s Uncle Sam
Google's Uncle Sam indexes U.S. government web pages and state government web pages.

NewsMeat (Campaign Contribution Search)

Political Information
"a search engine for politics, policy, and political news."

Political Philosophy (Directory) Google

Political Science (directory) Yahoo

Politics (directory) Google

Real Clear Politics Lycos

Politics Search Engines

Yahoo Directory: Government

Yahoo Directory: Political Science

Yahoo Directory: Politics