Research Guides: Distance Learners: Faculty Resources

COVID 19 Update

Questions? Concerns?

See our FAQs: https://askus.library.uni.edu/

Use our online chat service: https://library.uni.edu/research/ask-us-research-help

Thank you!

Faculty Resources

A variety of resources for faculty teaching distance education courses are included below. if you have questions about Rod Library's distance learning services. Refer your students to the Research Help section for links to online guides and tutorials related to research and specific Rod Library resources.

E-Course Reserves
Rod Library offers both print and electronic course reserves services. Library staff will create article links for you. They will find persistent URLs, if available, and proxify them for off-campus access. If a persistent URLs cannot be found, the article possibly can be placed on course reserves using fair use.
Information for Faculty
Link located on Rod Library homepage
Recommend a Resource
Suggest a library purchase

Copyright Tools

Copyright at UNI
Copyright guide created by Rod Library in collaboration with the UNI Copyright Committee.
Digital Copyright Slider
by Michael Brewer, American Library Association (Use this tool to help determine if you can freely use a work for your course. Any work published before 1923 is in the public domain, but the copyright status for copyrighted works after 1923 can be difficult to determine. If a work is in the public domain, you are free to use that work in any way that you choose-digitize it, re-publish it, post it on the web etc., with the appropriate attribution.)
Fair Use Evaluator
by Michael Brewer, American Library Association (Use this tool to help you understand how to determine if the use of a protected work is a fair use. It helps you collect, organize, and document the information you may need to support a fair use claim.)
Scholarly Communication: Information and Resources for the UNI Community
This guide developed by Rod Library outlines the basic issues related to scholarly communication issues.

ELearning - Add Library Resources

Add a Database Link - Owl List
Use this list when you want to place a link to a database. A list of proxified links to the entrance screens of Rod Library databases.
more...less...
If you can't find a persistent URL for an article, you can place a proxified link to the database in your eLearning module. Students will be brought to the database entrance screen. Instruct students to search for the article title after clicking on the database link.

Creating Direct Article Links

Creating Article Links
Use this document when you want to create direct links to articles found in library databases. Information about finding persistent URLs, PURLs, and directions for proxifying links for off-campus access.

Use this document when you want to create direct links to articles found in library databases. Information about finding persistent URLs, PURLs, and directions for proxifying links for off-campus access.