Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Introduction to Special Collections & University Archives at Rod Library

Here you'll find general information about the various book, manuscripts, and archival collections within SC&UA. You'll also find information about how to use and access these materials, and some policies to keep in mind.

OneSearch! Tips

OneSearch - search our library's collections

Special Collections materials, including the Rare Books materials and many maps, are in the online library catalog and can be found using OneSearch from the library homepage.

For assistance using OneSearch, check out this step-by-step guide.

You can narrow your search in the library catalog by using subject headings, which are generally topics, places, events, people, organizations, etc that a book or article is about. To search using subject headings, use the "subject" option from the dropdown in the advanced search.

subject advanced search screen capture

You can also find relevant subjects from an individual record, such as from a book, and identify other relevant materials by clicking on the subject.

subject search screen capture

 

To know if an item is available in Special Collections & University Archives, check the location in the catalog record. It will say "UNI Special Collections" if it is!

special collections location search screen capture

Selected Iowa Histories

County and City Histories