It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Teen life is hard enough, but for teens who are LGBTQ, it can be even harder. When do you decide to come out? Will your friends accept you? And how do you meet people to date? Queer is a humorous, engaging, and honest guide that helps LGBTQ teens come out to friends and family, navigate their social life, figure out if a crush is also queer, and challenge bigotry and homophobia. Personal stories from the authors and sidebars on queer history provide relatable context. This completely revised and updated edition is a must-read for any teen who thinks they might be queer or knows someone who is.
This book could be aptly entitled After Marriage What Is Next for the LGBT Community? Now that marriage is increasingly being institutionalized in many states within the United States it is quite likely that marriage will be acceptable in all 50 states (dependent upon action of the U.S. Supreme Court).
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer (GLBTQ) life and culture post-1945, with a strong international approach to the subject. The scope of the work is extremely comprehensive, with entries falling into the broad categories of Dance, Education, Film, Health, Homophobia, the Internet, Literature, Music, Performance, and Politics. Slang is also covered.
The encyclopedia contains 770 articles providing a broad range of information useful to both scholar and layperson. Coverage includes historical, medical, psychological, sociological, and transcultural and transgeographical information in biographical, topical, and thematic entries. A subject cross-reference guide begins the work. Biographies exclude living people, but they are often referred to in the text. The focus tends to be Western (because of the availability of information), but African, Eastern, and other groups are included.
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History: From Antiquity to the Mid-Twentieth Century is a comprehensive and fascinating survey of the key figures in gay and lesbian history from classical times to the mid-twentieth century. Among those included are: * Classical heroes - Achilles; Aeneas; Ganymede * Literary giants - Sappho; Christopher Marlowe; Arthur Rimbaud; Oscar Wilde * Royalty and politicians - Edward II; King James I; Horace Walpole; Michel de Montaigne. Over the course of some 500 entries, expert contributors provide a complete and vivid picture of gay and lesbian life in the Western world throughout the ages.
An annotated bibliography of research and critical resources on the movement, with some 1,900 entries divided into three sections on foundations and philosophies, 1864-1939; years of hiding and resistance, 1924-1968; and from gay liberation to AIDS, 1969-1993. Contains entries on national organizations such as the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, ACT UP, and Queer Nation, as well as sections on marches on Washington, the NAMES project, and regional communities. For researchers, activists, and students.
A Positive View of LGBTQ starts a new conversation about the strengths and benefits of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGTBQ) identities. Focusing on how LGTBQ-identified individuals can cultivate a sense of wellbeing and a personal identity that allows them to flourish in all areas of life, the authors explore a variety of themes. Through personal stories from people with a variety of backgrounds and gender and sexual identities, readers will learn more about expressing gender and sexuality; creating strong and intimate relationships; exploring unique perspectives on empathy, compassion, and social justice; belonging to communities and acting as role models and mentors.
Sexual orientation and gender identity are separate, distinct parts of people's overall identity. Equality and freedom from discrimination are human rights belonging to all people, however, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, gender diverse and intersex (LGBTI) people experience hostility in many areas of everyday life. This book explores issues involving sexual orientation, gender diversity and intersex status; and explains what equality means for people subjected to misunderstanding and homophobia.
Offers kaleidoscopic coverage of lesbian and gay life, history, politics, language, sex and humour. This volume's 2500 entries celebrate this culture's breadth, from Chinese folklore, Islamic poetry and Native American customs, to "dykes on bikes", Alternative Miss World and the Gay Games.
This provocative book examines the important issues in contemporary debates on sexual orientation--from our various religious beliefs to our stereotypes about homosexuals, from questions about the origin of sexual orientation to the lessons we can learn from history.
Female to Male Transgender Male to Female Transgender Gender Queer/Agendered Credits: Transgender and Gender Identity: Clinical Conversations for the Human Sexuality Classroom
Many people confuse the concepts of sexual orientation and gender identity. Gender identity is the term describing your sense of your gender expression - do you identify as male or female or both or neither? Matt and Denise are F to M and M to F persons who are transgendered. They give insight into their transitions and their lives. Cailynn and Chris use "gender queer" and "gendered" to describe themselves. Where do you fit on the gender continuum?
LGBTQ Stats chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing the critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. LGBTQ chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities. A chapter on LGBTQ life around the globe contrasts the dramatic progress for LGBTQ people in the United States with violent backlash in countries such as Russia, Iran, and Nigeria, which have discriminatory laws that make same-sex activity punishable by prison or death.
This database is brought to you by the Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa using local funds and the State Library of Iowa using federal LSTA funds administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and is available to anyone in Iowa even without a CatID.
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Gender Studies Database covers gender-engaged scholarship inside/outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available & indexed full-text articles & documents on the Web. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion & working papers, theses & dissertations & other sources.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
Kanopy is a streaming film database which includes educational and other films. Streaming is available on many devices, and films can be used in courses as well as eLearning. Rod Library has access to a collection of specific licensed titles. See this FAQ for additional details about how to find UNI-licensed streaming films through Kanopy.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries & publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, & social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press & the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995; other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press & scholarly society publishers joining each year.
Contains more than one million citations & summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations & technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business & law. Journal coverage, 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Founded in 2006, the Movement Advancement Project is an independent think tank that provides rigorous research, insight and analysis that help speed equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people.
Family Equality’s mission is to advance legal and lived equality for LGBTQ families, and for those who wish to form them, through building community, changing hearts and minds, and driving policy change.
Through strategic litigation, public policy advocacy, and education, GLBTQ Legal Advocates & Defenders works in New England and nationally to create a just society free of discrimination based on gender identity and expression, HIV status, and sexual orientation.
Founded in 1973, Lambda Legal is the oldest and largest national legal organization whose mission is to achieve full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.