It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Race. You know it at a glance: he's black; she's white. They're Asian; we're Latino. Racism. I'm better; she's worse. Those people do those kinds of things. We all know it's wrong to make these judgments, but they come faster than thought. Why? Where did those feelings come from? Why are they so powerful?
What does it mean to be white in a society that proclaims race meaningless, yet is deeply divided by race? Robin DiAngelo reveals the factors that make this question so difficult: mis-education about racism; ideologies such as individualism and colorblindness; segregation; and the belief that to be complicit in racism is to be an immoral person.
This work focuses on the culture of Hispanics, the fastest-growing ethnic group in the U.S. Reference works on Hispanic culture are few, yet this group is exerting an increasingly stronger influence on all aspects of American life.
At a time when politics is seemingly ruled by ideology and emotion and when immigration is one of the most contentious topics, it is more important than ever to cut through the rhetoric and highlight, in numbers, the reality of the broad spectrum of Latino life in the United States. Latinos are both the largest and fastest-growing racial/ethnic group in the country, even while many continue to fight for their status as Americans.
Asian Americans are a growing, minority population in the United States. After a 46 percent population growth between 2000 and 2010 according to the 2010 Census, there are 17.3 million Asian Americans today. Yet Asian Americans as a category are a diverse set of peoples from over 30 distinctive Asian-origin subgroups that defy simplistic descriptions or generalizations. They face a wide range of issues and problems within the larger American social universe despite the persistence of common stereotypes that label them as a "model minority" for the generalized attributes offered uncritically.
The most complete and affordable single-volume reference of African American culture available today, this almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating and demystifying the moving, difficult, and often lost history of black life in America.
A comprehensive guide filled with contemporary facts and figures on African Americans?is an essential reference for anyone attempting to fathom the complex state of our nation. With fascinating and often surprising information on everything from incarceration rates, lending practices, and the arts to marriage, voting habits, and green jobs, the contextualized material in this book will better attune readers to telling trends while challenging commonly held, yet often misguided, perceptions. A compilation that at once highlights measures of incredible progress.
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Racial literacy as civil disobedience: practicing racial assertiveness in schools.
Based on extensive research, this provocative volume explores how schools are places where racial conflicts often remain hidden at the expense of a healthy school climate and the well-being of other students of colour. Most schools fail to act on racial microaggressions because the stress of negotiating such conflicts is extremely high due to fears of incompetence, public exposure, and accusation. Instead of facing these conflicts head on, schools perpetuate a set of avoidance or coping strategies. The author of this much-needed book uncovers how racial stress undermines student achievement.
The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers; names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations; and a list of suggestions for further reading. Also featured is a general annotated bibliography with over 100 items regarding multiculturalism. Its scope, combined with consistent headings throughout each essay, and more than 250 photographs and illustrations and subject index combine to make it the most complete and accessible source available.
Understanding the history of Asians in America is key to understanding the development of America itself. Asian American Chronology: Chronologies of the American Mosaic presents the most influential events in Asian American historyÑas well as key moments that have remained under the historical radar. This in-depth record covers events from the 18th century to the present day, including the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.
The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.
This handbook helps readers to both understand and craft policies to aid the successful acculturation of immigrants in the US. It is an excellent road map for researchers in immigration and education, as well as educational and developmental psychologists, sociologists, economists, and public policy makers. An immigrant from Russia, Dr. Grigorenko weaves her first-hand experiences and strategies into this unique text. It encompasses all available research on immigration and acculturation, from new information on bilingual education to studies of low-skill versus high-skill workers.
World Geography provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students? global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
16,000+ biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world?s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography (more than 345 volumes), Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (more than 50 volumes), and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.).
This database is brought to you by the Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa using local funds and the State Library of Iowa using federal LSTA funds administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and is available to anyone in Iowa even without a CatID.
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
Kanopy is a streaming film database which includes educational and other films. Streaming is available on many devices, and films can be used in courses as well as eLearning. Rod Library has access to a collection of specific licensed titles. See this FAQ for additional details about how to find UNI-licensed streaming films through Kanopy.
American Memory provides free & open access through the Internet to written & spoken words, sound recordings, still & moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history & creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, & ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education & lifelong learning.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
The Mujeres Latinas Project of the Iowa Women's Archives seeks to collect and preserve materials which document the lives and contributions of Latinas and their families to Iowa history. A portion of oral histories, clippings, postcards, text, and photographs from the project have been included in this digital collection.
The Postville Project is an initiative to preserve and exhibit the media and stories surrounding the 2008 immigration raid and the memories of the Postville, Iowa community before, during, and after that event. The collections in this project include news articles, photographs, personal papers, federal court documents, and much more. This is a collaborative effort between the University of Northern Iowa Rod Library and the Luther College Archives.
An online search tool at that facilitates broad access to over 400,000 digitized archival materials documenting African American history from more than 1,000 libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions across the United States.
Despite 15 years of diversity programs and initiatives, many of our discussions about race remain mired in confusion. Even a casual observer cannot help but notice how structural racism is ignored, how multiculturalism is confused with equality, and how many campuses remain hamstrung in their efforts to become more inclusive and welcoming of everyone. The University of California, Berkeley students in this film - over the course of a 16-week intergroup dialogue program - probe and confront each other about such issues as underrepresentation, the limitations of multiculturalism, social equity, affirmative action, and their own responsibilities for making a difference.