Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Library Support for Faculty

Use this guide to access library resources and services to assist with your teaching.

Quick Overview

We have specialized units in the library designed to support teaching and learning. These include Fine & Performing Arts, Special Collections & University Archives, UNI Museum, and Youth Services. In addition to these units, we have a great deal of historical materials you may wish to assign your students. This section provides an overview of the resources and issues you may need to consider when assigning these materials.

Fine & Performing Arts

Contact: Angela Pratesi (angela.pratesi@uni.edu)

Music and art resources can be particularly challenging to access in an online environment. Many materials are not available electronically. If you need help accessing resources, please contact Fine & Performing Arts Librarian, Angela Pratesi.

Special Collections & University Archives

Contact: Jaycie Vos (jaycie.vos@uni.edu)

If you are interested in integrating Special Collections & University Archives materials into your course, please contact university archivist, Jaycie Vos. Special Collections staff can still digitize materials and assist with archival research and primary source literacy for you and your students. Please give at least 3 weeks notice if you want to plan an instruction session with the archives.

UNI Museum

Contact: Nathan Arndt (nathan.arndt@uni.edu): Conducting Research Using Museum Collections

Contact: Haley Habinck (haley.habinck@uni.edu): Instruction Requests or Incorporating Museum Objects in Classes

In an effort to provide digital access to ethnographic and historical objects, the UNI Museum collections are available at their website (see below).

  • The museum staff have access to 2D and 3D scanners which can be utilized to digitize any material in the collection for research and educational use. 
  • Museum staff are also able to provide physical and digital instruction relating to museum collections, history or rural school education, museum practices, or how to conduct research with primary sources.
  • The Center for the History of Rural Iowa Education and Culture (CHRIEC) remains open for digital scanning and online research requests.
  • Digital tours of the Marshall Center School, Culture Lab, or museum collections are also available by appointment.

Youth Services

Contact: Katelyn Browne (katelyn.browne@uni.edu)

How can I access children's and young adult ebooks?

The Youth Collection does not have an easily-accessible collection of ebooks. However, many public libraries do. If you already have a public library card, your local public library can help you access their platform. Most UNI students can also sign up for library cards at the Cedar Falls Public Library. Students in the education preparation programs may also have access to ebooks through Central Rivers AEA. Contact the Youth Collection if you'd like more information.

Historical Materials

While there are remarkable and rich collections of free online historic information sources available such as pre-1925 magazines or books in HathiTrust, Google Books, and Internet Archive, certain forms of pre-1925 historic information such as newspaper article, and most forms of more modern historic information are only available through expensive databases. Much of magazine and newspaper literature from 1925 to 1980 is either not available to UNI (newspapers) or only available in print (magazines). For a better understanding of what is available, contact your liaison librarian.