Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

HIST 4260 / 5260 - U.S. Women's History - Cutter

A guide to search techniques and a portal for primary and secondary sources.

Library of Congress - Digital Collections

Library of Congress - Digital Collections. Browse or search this collection for primary source material.

europenana

europeana digital archive of Eureopean art and history

Internet Archive

Internet Archive - Search Engine. Browse or search this digital archive to locate primary source material.

DPLA - Digital Public Library of America

DPLA - Digital Public Library of America.  Browse or search this digital archive to locate primary source material.

HathiTrust - Archive of Magazines and Books published before 1925

 

Hathi Trust Digital Library.  Use the Advanced Search to find primary sources from a specified date range.

Google Books (books & magazines)

Google Books Advanced Search - Set the search to the desired date range to find primary sources.

Iowa Digitized Newspapers (freely available to the public)

Digitized historical Iowa newspapers freely available to the public

Digitized Historical Magazines (freely available to the public)

Historical Digitized Magazines freely available to the public. Also includes magazines owned by UNI Rod Library in digital, print and microfilm formats.

Chronicling America 1789-1963 - Historical Newspapers Digitized by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities

JSTOR Early Journal Content and Open Access Journals

JSTOR Early Journal Content (freely available material published before the U.S. copyright date 1925 and world copyright date of 1870).

 

JSTOR Early Journal Content provides free access to articles published prior to 1925 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere.  JSTOR provides free access to more modern open access journal articles.