Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Music Research

This guide provides an overview of research tools and methods relating to music.

Getting Started

Reference works include encyclopedias, thematic catalogs, indices, and guides to research. Many are printed editions that can be found in the reference section of the Fine & Performing Arts Collection. There are important electronic versions, as well, like Oxford Music Online.

Oxford Music Online/Grove Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the single most important music dictionary and encyclopedia. It is a comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, the Encyclopedia is a biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online is Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. Advanced search capabilities, including biography and bibliography searching, provide users with tools for content navigation. Product-specific timelines and topical guides provide users with pathways into the content.

New Grove

Guides to Research

Guide to Research is a book-length bibliography of scholarship on a composer, genre, or special topic.

Thematic Catalogs

Thematic Catalogs are complete lists of works by a composer or in a genre. They often include incipits, the opening musical gesture of a piece.