Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Counseling: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Gladding, S. T. (2006). Counseling Dictionary: Concise Definitions of Frequently Used Terms (2nd ed.). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson/Merrill.
Rod Library UNI Reference BF 637 C6G5332 2006
Brief definitions and basic information for over 2,600 terms, names, and abbreviations used in the counseling. Examples help to clarify the meaning of concepts. Prominent counseling theorists, researchers, or practitioners are included and their contributions to the counseling profession are discussed. A chronology, beginning on page 153, identifies significant events in the history of counseling and of the American Counseling Association.

Hersen, M., & Sledge, W. (Eds.). (2002). Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy. San Diego, CA: Academic Press.
Rod Library UNI Reference RC 475.7 E537 2002
In over 200 essays psychotherapy theory, practice, research, policy, and training are examined. For the psychotherapeutic approaches a standard format is used (including treatment description, theoretical basis, and case illustration) to aid in comparing psychotherapies.  

Key, Kristin. (Ed.) (2012). The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health(3rd ed.). Detroit, MI: Gale.
Over 500 entries on mental health, disorders, drugs, tests, and treatments. 

Examples of encyclopedias focused on particular counseling theories include: 

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy
Rod Library UNI Reference RC 489 B4E485 2005

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy
Rod Library UNI Reference RC 489 C63E537 2005

Handbooks

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-V.  (2013). (5th ed.) Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.
Rod Library Library Services Desk Permanent Reserve RC 455.2 C4D54 2013
Published by the American Psychiatric Association, the DSM-V is the standard manual for classifying mental  disorders in adults and children.  To trace the history of mental disorder classification the earlier edition, DSM-IV-TR, is available at the Library Services Desk RC 455.2 C4D54 2000; earlier editions are at Stacks RC 455.2 C4D54.  

DSM-V Made Easy: The Clinician's Guide to Diagnosis
Online through ebrary 
This book by diagnostician James R. Morrison presents the spectrum of diagnoses in DSM-5 in an accessible, clinically useful format.  Includes 130 case vignettes to illustrate typical patient presentations.

Stebnicki, M. A., & Marini, I. (Eds.). (2009). The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference. New York, NY: Springer.
Rod Library UNI Reference BF 636.6 M37 2009
Explores professional counseling issues, ethics, theories, and practices (including evidence-based therapeutic approaches and culturally diverse treatment approaches). 

Corsini, R. J., & Wedding, D. (Eds.) (with F. Dumont). (2011). Current Psychotherapies (9th ed.). Belmont, CA : Thomson Brooks/Cole.
Rod Library UNI Reference RC 480 C87 2011
An authoritative examination of 15 primary systems of psychotherapy, such as Adlerian psychotherapy, Client-centered therapy, and rational emotive behavior therapy. A consistent framework is used (including basic concepts, history, and process)  to explore each therapeutic approach to enable comparison  across the therapeutic approaches.  

Subject Guide