Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases & Indexes to Find Articles
To identify articles in counseling, consult the following indexes and abstracts. To search those available through the Rod Library Web page, select the desired index or abstract title from the Databases A-Z list. Many of the following databases also index and summarize other types of relevant publications such as book chapters, books, conference papers, and dissertations.
When you identify articles or other sources of interest, click on the Find It link to learn if Rod Library provides electronic access to the article in full-text online, has the journal in paper copy in Periodicals, or does not subscribe to the journal.
Coverage: 1806 -
From the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive psychology database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,500 journals in psychology and social sciences such as counseling, psychiatry, and social work. Use the Thesaurus tab to identify subject headings such as counseling, psychotherapy, school counseling, school counselors, child psychotherapy, geriatric psychotherapy, group psychotherapy, cognitive behavior therapy, neurosis, and mental disorders.
Coverage: 1895 - (or in most cases, from vol. 1, #1 of the journal)
Provides full-text access to journal articles published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. All material, except ads and editorial board lists, is accessible. A subset of the journals indexed by PsycINFO. APA tutorials at http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/tutorials.aspx
Coverage: 1966 -
Of particular interest to those studying school counseling or postsecondary counseling. Also useful to those whose clients are school-aged, college-aged, or adult learners. The ERIC database indexes and abstracts articles from about 800 education journals. Among the journals indexed are Professional School Counseling and Journal of Adolescence. ERIC also indexes and abstracts documents such as research reports, bibliographies, curricular materials, and conference papers.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: 1983 -
Education Index (print)
UNI Index/Abstract L 11 E27 Library has: 1929-1999
Indexes about 400 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs in education, including those in school and postsecondary counseling. There is a substantial overlap with ERIC. However, the number of journals indexed only in Education Full Text makes it worthwhile to search in addition to ERIC.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and other publications in gender and sexual diversity studies, including women’s, men’s, and GLBT studies. Topics such as family therapy, feminism, divorce, sex roles, incest, spouse abuse, and political/social activism are included. Also provides links to relevant documents on the Web.
Coverage: 1960s -
The PubMed bibliographic database of the National Library of Medicine indexes journal articles in medicine, psychiatry, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system. PubMed contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.
Indexes over 1,800 journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences. Of particular interest to those studying counseling topics related to drugs, health behavior and attitudes, neuropsychology, or medicine.