Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Psychological Assessment: Experimental Tests (non-commercial) - Directories

Experimental Tests (non-commercially published)

Goldman, B.A., & Mitchell, D. F. (Eds.). Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Rod Library UNI Reference BF 431 G625 volume 1- 9   (1974- 2008)
(most recent, volume 9, covers journals published 2001-2005)
A directory of non-commercial experimental measurements, scales, tests, and surveys in use when each directory was published. Provides researchers with descriptive information about experimental tests in education, psychology, and sociology to enable the researchers to determine whether the tests might be of potential use. The Directory is developed from the editors' examination of over thirty professional journals in education, psychology, and sociology. References to the journal articles are given; the tests may or may not be reprinted in full in the journal articles. For indexing, consult the cumulative author and subject indexes at the back of the most recent volume. 

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences (TMSS)
https://archive.org/details/tests-and-measures-in-the-social-sciences
"Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences" (TMSS) is an online  index to tests and measurement resources appearing in 140 handbooks (also referred to as compilation volumes) used to measure human characteristics in psychology, counseling, social work, health, and other fields. This index was created to "help students who are writing academic papers."  Each document that is part of the TMSS index features one resource containing some of the many tests that can be found in handbooks available in libraries  Check Rod Library to learn whether we have each handbook. (If Rod Library does not own them, you may wish to try our Interlibrary Loan Service.)  Formerly TMdb, TMSS was created by Helen Hough, Systems Librarian emeritus at the University of Texas at Arlington. 

SDSU Test Finder (San Diego State University)
https://library.csun.edu/mstover/db/
A searchable index of full-text tests, instruments, rating scales, and measures reprinted in books owned by the San Diego State University Library or in published journal articles. Also includes instruments available on the Web. Check Rod Library to learn whether we own or provide access to the books or journals in which tests of interest to you appear. (If Rod Library does not own them, you may wish to try our Interlibrary Loan Service.)  SDSU Test Finder was created by Mark Stover, Head of Reference at San Diego State University.

TestLink, the Test Collection at ETS. Educational Testing Service.
The ETS TestLink database provides information about more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices in education or psychology. Information about tests created from the early 1900s to the present is included. To search for tests in the Tests in Microfiche collection (see below), follow the instructions given on the TestLink website. Additional instructions are given for tests that are downloadable (many for a fee).  

Tests in Microfiche.  Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service
Lower level of Rod Library in the Microforms area, Microfiche drawer #79 with hot pink labels, filed alphabetically in the Ts under Tests in Microfiche.
The ETS Tests in Microfiche collection contains microfiche copies of certain unpublished experimental tests and measures in education and psychology. These tests have been cited in the literature, and test authors have given ETS permission to reproduce the tests on microfiche. The microfiche collection is filed by ETS's own accession/call number, in numerical order. 

Subject Guide