Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

CHEM 4310 - Instrumental Analysis - Sebree: Research

Journal Abbreviations

Many citations you see for scholarly articles will include journal abbreviations. Google abbreviations to determine what they stand for or try a journal abbreviation source such as All that Jas.

Databases

General Databases/Variety of Disciplines:

Science-Focused Databases:

Art/Textiles/Conservation/Museum Studies Databases:

Biology Databases:

Advanced Search Tips

  • Beware abbreviations!  For some databases, you'll need to spell out abbreviations/acronyms.
  • Some databases allow limiting to your keywords in the title or abstract.
  • Search for a logical phrase by using quotation marks (Example: "elemental analysis")
  • Get specific by adding more terms using AND (note that some databases add AND automatically).
  • Get variations of words by using an ASTERISK (*) (Example: spectr*    finds: spectroscopy, spectrophotometry, spectrometry, spectra, spectrum ...)

Find a Book

  • Book/Media search is used to locate the books, government publications, journals (but not articles), and sound and video recordings found in the UNI Rod Library.

  • ebrary - online books from the Rod Library (use "Advanced" search option)

  • HathiTrust Digital Library - Online government publications.  Online government publications.  For online books published prior to 1923 use Advanced Search and set catalog search to "Full view only".
          
  • WorldCat - Searches the catalogs of most U.S. and Canadian libraries. Use the Interlibrary Loan link provided to request that a book UNI Rod Library doesn't own be delivered to Rod Library for you.

  • Google Books (Advanced Search) - Full text search of books - but - only limited online display (copyright) for books published after 1923.
                      

Finding Journal Articles with a Citation

Timesaver Strategy!  Once you have found an article, borrow the citations to find more. Here's how:

If you found the article in OneSearch,

  • Use the Cited By box if provided. This will list articles cite the original article (use it as a source).
  • You can also use the Citations box if provided to see what sources are in the original article's bibliography.

In either case, use the links provided (Find Online if available through Rod Library subscriptions) to access each relevant article.

Or if you have citations for articles you want, search by journal title (not article title) in Rod Library Journals A to Z list.

Or if you have citations for articles you want, use the Rod Library Citation Linker to enter as much citation information as you know about an article you want.

If UNI doesn't own/subscribe to an article you need, feel free to request through Interlibrary Loan. If you need help with this process, see Anne Marie.

 

Many other databases provide links for cited and citing articles, as well as other relevant articles.

Your Librarian

Anne Marie Gruber's picture
Anne Marie Gruber
Office hours:
By Zoom video conference or phone appointment.
My times don't work? Book another librarian
Contact:
319-273-3711

Preparing for Graduation

This guide includes job search websites, grad school checklists, and free research tools you can use after you graduate.

Exam Study Guides & Practice Tests

Rod Library subscribes to a database with practice tests, study guides, tutorials, etc. for some college entrance and graduate exams. Creating a free account is required for some resources.