This is a portal to L'Annee Philologique and JSTOR - databases for locating scholarly articles on Ancient Greece. This guide also provides a link to the often necessary interlibrary loan service - and step-by-step instructions for using interlibrary loa
After locating an article in L'Annee - check to see if there are external links at the bottom of the record and click on these.
If there are no external links or the external links do not work ... paste the article title into one of the following options to see if you can access the article immediately or must request the article via interlibrary loan.
If article does not first appear in OneSearch results - click on "Expand My Results."
If the article appears then click on "No full-text" and then click on "Request from Illiad" to quickly load the article into interlibrary loan.
Else - click on the link to interlibrary loan and type the in the request.
Narrow your JSTOR searches by checking the box for "Articles".
Consider also limiting your JSTOR search to "Classical Studies" which will focus your results on seventy-eight research journals focused on ancient Greece and Rome.
It is possible to search for all variations of idea by either truncating the concept you are looking for ...
(this finds Hellenistic, Hellenism, Hellenic)
... or you can look for synonyms by placing an "OR" between related concepts in the same search blank …
e.g. Anatolia OR Asia Minor
(this finds articles containing either Anatolia or Asia Minor ... or both).
JSTOR is made up of many collections. Rod Library owns most, but not all, of the JSTOR collections. To locate articles from JSTOR collections not owned by Rod Library - you can change the search setting "Select an access type" from "Content I can access" to "All content". You will not have direct access to JSTOR articles from collections UNI does not subscribe to, however you could check Google Scholar and/or Google to see if an article, unavailable from JSTOR, is available for free somewhere else. If free access is not available request the article through interlibrary loan.
Reminders - your JRR articles must be:
Published after 1970
At least five pages of text (beyond the title page and bibliography)
L'Annee Philologique - How to use the Advanced Search