Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

CHEM 2230 - Organic Chemistry Lab - Manfredi & Thadison: Chem Abstracts

A guide to sources for: named organic reactions and free radical chlorination. Tips on using SciFinder Scholar and Chemical Abstracts in print.

Finding Your Reaction in Chemical Abstracts

Each of your named reactions are associated with an author (or a primary/first author).

     

The best places to look for your author is in the multi-year author indexes.  

    

For older articles - 1907 - 1956 - try using one of the Decennial Indexes:  1907-1916, 1917-1926, 1927-1936, 1937-1946, and 1947-1956.

After 1956 these multi-year indexes are grouped, first by five year intervals: 1957-1961, 1962-1966 and thereafter by four year intervals: 1967-1971, 1972-1976, 1977-1981, 1982-1986, and 1987-1991.

    

It is also possible to use author indexes for either the year of publication or the following year (articles published towards the end of a year may show up in the index of the subsequent year).

    
    

    

An example.      

The researcher/author M.S. Aslanova wrote an article in 1964 on the electrical surface conditions of glass fibers.

To locate Aslanova during this time period, use the Authors Index for 1962-1966 (the Authors A-B volume).

Under the heading Aslanova, M.S. you will find many articles on glass fibers ... but the fourth entry focuses specifically on "electrical surface conditions of glass fibers."  The number/symbol associated with this entry is:  

61:10414d

 

    

Now go to the long run of bound volumes labeled 61 (important - 61 refers to Volume 61 not the year 1961) and look for the bound volume that contains the entry 10414d.  This entry will be in the bound volume of 61 labeled: 

61
Oct.12 - Nov. 9
1964
8869 - 12596
 

     

The numbers 8869 - 12596 are entry numbers.  Since 10414 falls between 8869 and 12596 you know you have the right volume.  Go to page/entry 10414 and then on this page (which is made up of the columns 10413 and 10414) go down the column to the level marked by a letter "d"  (hence the item number 61:10414d) et Voila! The Aslanova citation and abstract is found.  

     

You will find that the entry in Chemical Abstracts uses a journal abbreviation.  To find the full name of the journal you can either: 1. Use the journal abbreviation finder at UBC - http://scieng.library.ubc.ca/coden/   2.  use the journal abbreviation guides found at the end of the last years of print Chemical Abstracts (late 1990s),  3. try googling the abbreviation (works in many cases).

   

   

Note: You will always use the entry number to find your Chemical Abstracts citation/abstract.  However for earlier entries e.g. 1930s a superscript number was used instead of a letter.  For later entries, each entry has its own unique entry number.

Where Chemical Abstracts are Found

Chemical Abstracts live in the Bound Periodicals on the first floor (basement) of the Library.  

 


The older (1907 - 1954) volumes are either brown or green.

   

     

     

   

  

The newer volumes (1955 - 1994) are red.