Research Guides: Entrepreneurship : MKTG 3116

OR marketing OR advertising either word may appear

NOT marketing NOT social media finds marketing and eliminates those with social media

* advertis* finds advertise, advertisement, advertising, etc.

" " "social media" searches for the entire phrase

w5 "new location" W5 find* W5 customers
within five words of each other (EBSCO databases)

w/5 "new location" W/5 find! W/5 customers
within five words of each other (Nexis Uni)

near5 "new location" near5 find* W5 customers
within five words of each other (ProQuest databases)

Bureau of Labor Statistics Midwest Information
This U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics program collects and distributes data on the buying habits of U.S. consumers. Tracks expenditures for specific products, such as fresh fruits, by consumers in various demographic categories. Includes Consumer Price Index.

Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook 2019-2020 by Richard K. Miller & Associates
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781577832638
Publication Date: 2019
This handbook compiles top-line data into a single easy-to-use reference. Segments covered include filmed entertainment, home entertainment, live performances, local advertising, magazines, mobile media, news media, newspapers, outdoor advertising, place-based video advertising, radio, recorded music, television, the Internet, video games, and more.
Consumer Behavior 2017-2018 by Richard K. Miller & Associates
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781577832355
Publication Date: 2017
Consumer spending accounts for 70% of the U.S. gross domestic product, or $11.6 trillion. Consumer Behavior 2017-2018 assesses how this spending is distributed and the consumer behaviors that affect spending. Consumer Behavior 2017-2018 presents dozens of surveys analyzing consumer spending characteristics, behavioral responses, and preferences. Easy-to-read summaries of current research and other information useful for retailers, marketers, advertisers, and business consultants are presented.

U.S. Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format. Use Regional Analyst Edition. WARNING: not all data is available at the Block Group, Tract, County or even State level.

Census Reporter
"Census Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey easier to use. We are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau." Use the Profile option to find basic demographic and economic data for a given geographic location. Use the Explore option to identify possible data of interest - then type in a geographic location. Use the Topics options to locate Census Tables - choose a table - then type in a geographic location.

Explore Census Data by Data.Census.gov
Choose Tables - then choose FILTER - then choose Topics and choose one of ten topics and one or more choices under that topic - then choose Done - the choose CUSTOMIZE TABLE - then choose GEOS - then choose Geography level - then choose the area or areas of interest.- then click on Excel.
WARNING: not all data is available at the Block Group, Tract, County or even State level.

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel produces hundreds of reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. Each report that Mintel publishes provides an overview of a market's dynamics and prospects.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Contains financial statements and ratios for large publicly-held U.S. and international firms.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal." Several datasets are also available.

Entrepreneurship