Skip to Main Content

Statistical Data for Business

Use databases to find historical economic statistics

Search for your topic in the following databases which may be found in the Databases A-Z listing on the Rod Library homepage under the Articles tab. ABI/Inform, Business Knowledge Research, EconLit, Fed in Print, FRASER, and NBER Working Papers are sources of economic history and statistics. The New York Times (1851-2007) has the full text of articles from that time period in which they were published and may also contain information on the economy.

Fed in Print (index to Federal Reserve Research)

FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)

FRASER - Data & Statistics

NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research)

See also: Google Scholar

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal." Several datasets are also available.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
American Economic Association's database is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL)--reliable source of citations & abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory & much more.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. It is possible to display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse individual issues page by page.