Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes to Find Journal and Newspaper Articles
Articles published in scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers on Iowa history are indexed in numerous print and electronic indexes and abstracts. To search the electronic indexes available through the Rod Library Web page, select the desired index or abstract title from the Databases A-Z listing under the OneSearch tab.
Des Moines Register Index
Des Moines Register Index
Library has: September 1965-June 1976
UNI Index/Abstract AI 21 D45
Library has: June 1975-June 1987
Library has: 1986-June 1992
UNI CD-ROM Network
Library has: 1991
Provides citations to publications from UNI.
Index to the Waterloo Courier
UNI Index/Abstract AI 21 W37
Library has: 1974-1991
Databases to Find Journal and Newspaper Articles
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
This index covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Includes abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Rod Library Periodicals on Iowa History
Annals of Iowa
Call Number: UNI Periodicals & Compact Periodicals F616 .A66
Iowa Historical Record
Call Number: UNI Compact Periodicals F 616 I57 (1885-1902)
(Continued by Iowa Journal of History and Politics)
Iowa Journal of History
Call Number: UNI Compact Periodicals F 616 I58 (1949-1961)
(Continues Iowa Journal of History and Politics)
Call Number: UNI Periodicals & Compact Period F 616 I82 (1952/53-)
Call Number: UNI Periodicals and Compact Periodicals F 616 P16 (1920-1995)
(Continued by Iowa Heritage Illustrated)