Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases and Indexes to Find Articles
Coverage: 1880s -
Published by the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive psychology database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 2,500 journals in psychology and its subdisciplines from more than 50 countries, as well as articles with a psychological focus from psychiatry, medicine, education, social work. law, criminology, and organizational behavior journals. Also indexes and summarizes book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations.
In addition to using APA PsycInfro to identify articles in psychology, consult the following indexes and abstracts. To search those available through the Rod Library Web page, select the desired index or abstract title from the Databases A-Z list. Many of the following databases also index and summarize other types of relevant publications such as book chapters, books, conference papers, and dissertations.
When you identify articles or other sources of interest, click on the Find It button to learn if Rod Library provides electronic access to the article in full-text online, has the journal in paper copy in Periodicals, or does not subscribe to the journal.
Coverage: 1895 - (or in most cases, from vol. 1, #1 of the journal)
Provides full-text access to journal articles published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. All material, except ads and editorial board lists, is accessible. A subset of the journals indexed by APA PsycInfo. APA tutorials at http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/tutorials.aspx
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Coverage: 1971 -
Of particular interest to those researching industrial-organizational psychology topics or studying behavior or attitudes in work settings. Indexes about 1,800 business periodicals, including scholarly journals, general business magazines, trade and industry news sources, and newspapers.
Coverage: 1966 -
ERIC US Dept of Education http://www.eric.ed.gov/ Coverage: 1966 -
Of particular interest to those studying educational psychology topics, testing, counseling, or behavior occurring in a school or learning setting. The ERIC database indexes and abstracts articles from about 980 education journals. It also indexes and abstracts documents such as research reports, bibliographies, curricular materials, and conference papers. ERIC documents are available on microfiche
Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: 1983 -
Education Index (print)
UNI Index/Abstract L 11 E27 Library has: 1929-1982/83
Indexes about 400 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs in education, including educational psychology. There is a substantial overlap with ERIC. However, the full-text journal-article feature and the number of journals indexed only in this database make it worthwhile for individuals seeking educational psychology research to search it in addition to ERIC.
Coverage: 1960s -
The PubMed bibliographic database of the National Library of Medicine indexes journal articles in medicine, psychiatry, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system. PubMed contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Of particular interest to those researching gender-related topics. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and other publications in gender and sexual diversity studies, including women’s, men’s, and GLBT studies. Also provides links to relevant documents on the Web.
Indexes over 1,800 journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences. Especially useful for those studying topics in biological psychology, neuropsychology, pharmacology, or medicine as well as health behavior and attitudes.
Web of Science Core Collection (Thomson Reuters)
The Web of Science Core Collection provides access to Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Switch from "Basic Search" to "Cited Reference Search" to identify who is citing articles you have found to be relevant.
Web of Science All Databases (Thomson Reuters)
Access to Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, Zoological Record, and SciELO Citation Index as well as to the Web of Science Core Collection (see above).
GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE
Coverage: 1980 -
Provides subject, keyword, author, and periodical name access to general interest magazines and to scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Use the Subject Guide Search to browse subject headings or choose Advanced Search to type keywords of interest. To limit your search to academic, scholarly resources, check "Peer-Reviewed Journals."