Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases and Indexes to Find Articles
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts over 750,000 journal articles, books, and other publications in gender and sexual diversity studies, including women’s, men’s, and GLBT studies. Access to research and theory in feminism, gender identity, lesbianism, liberation, literary criticism, masculinity, mental and physical health, political/social activism, queer studies, and racial/ethnic studies.
To identify additional articles in women's studies, consult the following indexes and abstracts. To search those available through the Rod Library Web page, select the desired index or abstract title from the Databases A-Z list. Many of the following databases also index and summarize other types of relevant publications such as book chapters, books, conference papers, and dissertations.
When you identify articles or other sources of interest, click on the Find It link to learn if Rod Library provides electronic access to the article in full-text online, has the journal in paper copy in Periodicals, or does not subscribe to the journal.
Web of Science (ISI)
Keyword (topic), author, and title access to journal articles in the social sciences, sciences, arts, and humanities. Searched databases include: ISI Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Zoological Records
Web of Science Core Collection (ISI)
Web of Science provides access to Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Use the "Cited Reference Search" tab to identify who is citing articles you have found to be relevant. See Tutorial: Cited Reference Searching
Abstracts in Anthropology (MetaPress)
UNI Index/Abstract GN 1 A15 1972-
An index to periodicals in cultural and physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. Particularly useful for identifying cross-cultural studies on women and on social relations. For research prior to 2001 use the print index at UNI Index/Abstract GN 1 A15 (1972-present).
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts scholarly studies of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore published in over 3,000 journals and in selected books. Useful for identifying information about authors, critical analyses of literary works, and methodological discussions (including feminist literary theory and criticism).
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)
Indexes more than 600 journals in philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of religion. Since 1980 selected books and anthologies are also covered. Most entries include an abstract.
Indexes and abstracts articles from 1,300 journals in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Useful for identifying social science research about women and studies comparing men and women. Use the Thesaurus tab to identify appropriate subject headings. In this resource a major subject heading used for research focused on women is "human females."
Full text of the articles appearing in 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Journals indexed are a subset of the journals indexed in PsycINFO.
GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE
Provides subject, keyword, author, and periodical name access to general interest magazines and to scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Can be used to research coverage of women's issues in popular magazines such as Newsweek and Time. Choose Advanced to search your topic using your keywords. You may also use the Subject Guide search to enter your topic and browse subject headings. To limit your search results to academic, scholarly resources, check "peer-reviewed journals."
A multidisciplinary database of current article information from over 27,000 journals in the social and physical sciences, the humanities and fine arts, business, law, medicine and other disciplines.