Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Music Research

This guide provides an overview of research tools and methods relating to music.

About

Use databases to learn what resources exist on a topic. For example, the library catalog is a kind of database that you search to find the physical resources the library owns. 

In music, RILM, MPD, and JSTOR are databases you can consult to find articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.

RILM

RILM Logo

RILM Music Abstracts,also known as Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, is the most comprehensive index of music literature. RILM includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes, provided the items are of scholarly interest. Subject areas include: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music.

MPD

Music Periodicals Database, or MPD, is an outstanding resource for finding the full-text of music periodicals. It enables you to find articles on a comprehensive variety of subjects about music from a wide range of scholarship.

JSTOR

JSTOR Logo

JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR provides access to the full-text of many core scholarly journals in music.

IPA Source

IPA Source has "the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content."

Naxos

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.

Naxos Music Library Jazz boasts a large collection of streaming jazz music with over 7,000 albums, 32,000 artists, and 200 different labels represented in the database.

*E-Resource Etiquette: only a limited number of people can use these databases simultaneously. If you are not actively using the databases, please close your browser so others can access them.*