Research Guides: Linguistics: Linguistics: Encyclopedias

Selected Encyclopedias--Print

Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia by Kirsten Malmkjaer (Editor)
Call Number: UNI Reference P29 .R67 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Covers all major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Philipp Strazny (Editor)
Call Number: UNI Reference P29 .E483 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Utilizing an historical and international approach, this two-volume resource makes complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Keith Brown (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: UNI Reference P29 .E48 2006
Publication Date: 2006 (2nd ed.)
A comprehensive, international reference source, and the first encyclopedia to really exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William J. Frawley (Editor)
Call Number: UNI Reference P29 .I58 2003
Publication Date: 2003 (2nd ed.)
Encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics, including the relationships between branches of linguistics and the relationships of linguistics with other disciplines.
Concise Encyclopedia of Grammatical Categories by Keith Brown (Editor); Jim Miller (Editor)
Call Number: UNI Stacks P240.5 .C66 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Provides a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the building blocks of syntax.
Concise Encyclopedia of Syntactic Theories by Jim Miller; Keith Brown
Call Number: UNI Stacks P291 .C575 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Describes the evolution of linguists' work with syntax.
The Pragmatics Encyclopedia by Louise Cummings (Editor)
Call Number: UNI Reference P99.4 .P72 P7395 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Covers the rich complexity of pragmatics in an accessible manner.