Research Guides: Mental Health in Children's and Young Adult Literature: Learning Differences

About Learning Differences

What is a learning difference or disability?

Children with learning differences are just as smart, or smarter, than their peers. They simply may difficulty with particular subjects, such as reading or math, or organizing information. Some common learning disabilities are dyslexia, dysgraphia, and dyscalculia. Often, learning disabilites and attention disorders, such as ADD or ADHD, occur at the same time.

For more information:

Nonfiction and Informational Books

Attention, Girls! A Guide to Learn All About Your ADHD by
Patricia O. Quinn
Call Number: Y 618 Q
Publication Date: 2009
"Contains practical ways to improve organization, focus, study and homework skills, as well as information on making and keeping friends, dealing with emotions, improving self-esteem, overcoming sleep problems, understanding medication, and managing anxiety that comes with ADHD."
The Survival Guide for Kids with ADD or ADHD by
John F. Taylor
Call Number: Y 618 T
Publication Date: 2006
Provides information on what ADD/ADHD are and provides guidance to navigating school, friends, and family for kids with ADD or ADHD.
That's Like Me!: Stories About Amazing People With Learning Differences by
Jill Lauren
Call Number: Y 371 L
Publication Date: 2009
"An inspiring collection that details the achievements of fifteen people with learning differences who faced the challenges of school while pursuing amazing personal goals."
Dyslexia by
Paula Wiltshire
Call Number: Y 616 W
Publication Date: 2002
"A comprehensive look at dyslexia, covering its definitions, causes, assessment, and treatments."

Picture Books

It's Hard to Be a Verb! by
Julia Cook
Call Number: YE COO
Publication Date: 2008
"Louis can't seem to control himself when he gets the urge to move at the wrong time and situation. Luis's mom comes to the rescue by teaching Louis techniques to help keep his inner itching, twitching and jumping to be a verb in check. A positive resource for anyone coping with ADHD"
The Art of Miss Chew by
Patricia Polacco
Call Number: YE POL
Publication Date: 2012
"Describes how a teacher named Miss Chew encouraged individuality, and accepted learning differences, and helped a young student with academic difficulties."
Eukee the Jumpy Jumpy Elephant by
Clifford L. Corman; Esther Trevino; Richard A. DiMatteo
Call Number: Not in our collection.
Publication Date: 2003
Intended for ages 4 to 8 years, this is an honest portrayal of the difficulties faced by those with attention deficit disorder.
Thank You, Mr. Falker by
Patricia Polacco
Call Number: YE POL
Publication Date: 1998
"At first, Trisha loves school, but her difficulty learning to read makes her feel dumb, until, in the fifth grade, a new teacher helps her understand and overcome her learning difference."
Leo the Late Bloomer by
Robert Kraus; Jose Aruego
Call Number: YE KRA
Publication Date: 1971
Leo isn't reading, or writing, or drawing, or even speaking, and his father is concerned. But Leo's mother isn't. She knows her son will do all those things, and more, when he's ready.
Just Juice by
Karen Hesse
Call Number: Y HES
Publication Date: 1998
"Realizing that her father's lack of work has endangered her family, nine-year-old Juice decides that she must return to school and learn to read in order to help their chances of surviving and keeping their house."
Last to Finish: A Story About the Smartest Boy in Math Class by
Barbara Esham
Call Number: Not in our collection.
Publication Date: 2008
"Max Leonard is convinced that he will never succeed with memorizing his multiplication tables; and his brain "freezes" during timed tests. But to everyone's surprise, Max has been completing algebra problems sets in his spare time! Max, his parents and teachers are amazed by his math potential."
Mrs. Gorski, I Think I Have the Wiggle Fidgets by
Barbaraa Esham
Call Number: Not in our collection.
Publication Date: 2008
"David Sheldon finds it difficult to pay attention and follow directions. His teacher, Mrs. Gorski, has had enough of David's brainstorms, but David brainstorms a way to manage his wiggle fidgets."
Taking Dyslexia to School by
Lauren E. Moynihan
Call Number: Not in our collection.
Publication Date: 2002
"Elementary school student copes with dyslexia, aided by parents and teachers."

Books for Tweens and Teens

Fish in a Tree by
Lynda Mullaly Hunt
Call Number: Y HUN
Publication Date: 2015
"Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker.
The Wild Book by
Margarita Engle
Call Number: Y ENG
Publication Date: 2012
Fefa has word blindness, or dyslexia, and the doctor says she will never read or write. But her mother has an idea. She gives Fefa a blank book filled with clean white pages. "Think of it as a garden," she says. Soon Fefa starts to sprinkle words across the pages of her wild book, and when her family is threatened, it is Fefa that saves them. Written in verse.
Absolutely Almost by
Lisa Graff
Call Number: Y GRA
Publication Date: 2014
"Ten-year-old Albie has never been the smartest, tallest, best at gym, greatest artist, or most musical in his class, as his parents keep reminding him, but new nanny Calista helps him uncover his strengths and take pride in himself."
Dying to Know You by
Aidan Chambers
Call Number: Y CHA
Publication Date: 2012
"Struggling through his dyslexia to try to fulfill his girlfriend Fiorella's request for a letter revealing his secret self, eighteen-year-old Karl asks Fiorella's favorite author for help, and he agrees only if Karl will submit to a series of interviews, which prove helpful to both men."
The Middle of Somewhere by
J. B. Cheaney
Call Number: Y CHE
Publication Date: 2007
"Twelve-year-old Ronnie loves organization, especially because her brother has attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder, but traveling with their grandfather who is investigating wind power in Kansas brings some pleasant, if chaotic, surprises."
The Lightning Thief by
Rick Riordan
Call Number: Y RIO
Publication Date: 2005
Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson learns he is a demigod, the son of a mortal woman and Poseidon, god of the sea. His mother sends him to a summer camp for demigods where he and his new friends set out on a quest to prevent a war between the gods. Featuring a main character with dyslexia and ADHD. Book 1 of 5 in the series.
Niagara Falls, or Does It? by
Henry Winkler; Lin Oliver
Call Number: Not in our collection.
Publication Date: 2004
"Inspired by the true life experiences of Henry Winkler, whose undiagnosed dyslexia made him a classic childhood underachiever, the Hank Zipzer series is about the high-spirited and funny adventures of a boy with learning differences." Book 1 in the series.