Data.CDC.gov is the data repository for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Data.CDC.gov provides a tremendous array of data across characteristics such as drug use and drug poisoning mortality, disabilities, injury, teen pregnancy, motor vehicle mortality, vaccinations and disease.
Data.CDC.gov can be searched by characteristic (e.g. drug poisoning), or by desired geographic characteristic (e.g. county). Data.CDC.gov data tables - which can be very large - can also be searched by specific location (e.g. Black Hawk County).
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. is a commercial database that provides a wide range of demographic and economic national data.
State-by-state comparisons can be found by:
It is possible search earlier editions or all editions of this database (2013-2019) by changing the Select edition option on the first page of this database.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States were treasure troves of statistics (once made freely available by the U.S. Government).
Statistical Abstracts are still great one-stop resource for historic statistics - however - only some of the tables provide state-by-state information (some metropolitan area stats but data at the county level).
The U.S. Census Bureau (data.census.gov) provides a powerful access to demographic. Data.census.gov will provide data on total population as well as distributions for characteristics such as age, race, gender, education attainment, housing, veteran status, disability status, citizenship status.
STATSAMERICA will allow you to locate demographic data on states, counties, cites/towns, and even neighborhoods.
Options include USA States in Profile, USA Counties in Profile, USA Towns in Profile, and the Big Radius Tool (to find information on regions).
Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Statistics - UCR Data Tool. This U.S. Dept. of Justice resource provides state-to-state comparisons across a wide range of violent crime and property crime variables.
