HIST 4000 - U.S. Gender History

American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia explores the wide range of identities and experiences that have defined men and masculinity in the United States from pre-Columbian times to the present. The first reference work devoted to this scholarly field, it draws on important contemporary research in history, gender and sexuality studies, and cultural and literary studies. The encyclopedia--in more than 250 articles--analyzes American manhood through historical eras and events; sexuality and the body; cultural icons and symbols; attitudes and behaviors; work and leisure; institutions and organizations; controversial issues and movements; key figures; family and the life cycle; literature, film, theater, and art; theories and concepts; and identities based on race, ethnicity, class, age, and region. Each entry includes suggestions for further reading and a list of other articles with additional information on a topic.

A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-national. cross-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.

A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.

Gender studies have become a major academic field in the past 25 years, providing a lens through which to reexamine and reevaluate knowledge in every area of human interaction and activity. The Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender encompasses the various concepts of sex and gender that have arisen from the critical study of those subjects worldwide, as well as the emerging reimagination of the more traditional humanities and social sciences. Broad theoretical essays address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation - all through the lens of gender. With a truly global perspective, topics of individual entries include changing conceptions of the feminine, the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more. In addition, the work discusses the influences of gender studies on various academic disciplines, examining how it has transformed and utilized methods and theories that have evolved.

How much have women's lives really changed? In the West, women still come up against the 'glass ceiling' at work, most earning considerably less than their male counterparts. What are we to make of the now commonplace insistence that feminism deprives men of their rights and dignities? And how does one tackle the issue of female emancipation in different cultural and economic environments - in, for example, the Middle East, the Indian sub-continent, and Africa? This book provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today. Margaret Walters touches on the difficulties and inequities that women still face more than forty years after the 'new wave' of 1960s feminism, such as how successful women are at combining domesticity, motherhood, and work outside the house. She brings the subject completely up to date by providing an analysis of the current situation of women across the globe, from Europe and the United States to Third World countries.

The set begins with nine introductory essays, each between six and nine pages long. The first five essays take a chronological approach, tracing women's experience as Americans from the 1600s through the 1950s. These are followed by essays that explore various themes: feminism, political participation and social activism, race and ethnicity, and "cultural representations."

The first encyclopedia to analyze, summarize, and explain the complexities of men's lives and the idea of modern manhood. The process of "making masculinity visible" has been going on for over two decades and has produced a prodigious and interesting body of work. But until now the subject has had no authoritative reference source. Men & Masculinities, a pioneering two-volume work, corrects the oversight by summarizing the latest historical, biological, cross-cultural, psychological, and sociological research on the subject. It also looks at literature, art, and music from a gender perspective. The contributors are experts in their specialties and their work is directed, organized, and coedited by one of the premier scholars in the field, Michael Kimmel. The coverage brings together for the first time considerable knowledge of men and manhood, focusing on such areas as sexual violence, intimacy, pornography, homophobia, sports, profeminist men, rituals, sexism, and many other important subjects. Clearly, this unique reference is a valuable guide to students, teachers, writers, policymakers, journalists, and others who seek a fuller understanding of gender in the United States. Nearly 400 A-Z entries from aging and intimacy to puberty and Westerns Cross-references in each entry to other relevant entries An impressive list of contributors including many of the world's premier scholars Illustrations of key historical events, people, and ideas that enhance understanding of the material

Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study, presents students with a compelling, clear study of issues of race, gender, and sexuality within the context of class. Rothenberg offers students over 160 readings, each providing different perspectives and examining the ways in which race, gender, class, and sexuality have been socially constructed. Rothenberg deftly and consistently helps students analyze each phenomena, as well as the relationships among them, thereby deepening their understanding of each issue surrounding race and ethnicity. The Sixth Edition combines hallmark features (clear, compelling narrative; an interdisciplinary approach; critical, unbiased presentation) with a staggering number of new essays, and a voice that immediately engages students. The wide range of selections will inspire rich classroom discussions, and the authors of many articles have revised and updated their pieces, making this edition extremely current and relevant to students' lives.

Theory and Method in Women's History -- New Approaches to the Study of Women in American History / Women in American Society: An Historical Contribution / Capitalism, the Family, and Personal Life / Capitalism, the Family, and Personal Life. Part 2 / The New Woman: Changing Views of Women in the 1920s / Placing Women in History: Definitions and Challenges / History and Historiography: The Treatment in American Histories of Significant Events Concerning the Status of Women / Sex and Race: The Analogy of Social Control / What Should Women's Historians Do: Politics, Social Theory, & Women's History / The Doubled Vision of Feminist Theory: A Postscript to the "Women and Power" Conference

Reflections on Twentieth-Century American Women's History / What the Women's Movement Has Done to American History / Placing Women's History in History / White Women/Black Women: The Dualism of Female Identity and Experience in the United States / Women in History: The Modern Period / On Seeing and Not Seeing: A Case of Historical Invisibility / Beyond the Search for Sisterhood: American Women's History in the 1980s / Gender: A Useful Category of Historical Analysis / History and Difference

Examines family history in the context of the general history of women in the USA. It considers women's social history and looks at the marital, parent-child relationships and the non-conforming instance of the single woman, in different regions and among many ethnic and racial groups in the USA.

Considers the laws concerning marriage, divorce, property and child custody in the context of women's history in the United States. This text includes articles which treat women's legal status and change over time in women's interaction with the legal structures of marriage, divorce and property.