Research Guides: Management: Find Sources

Find Sources

a stack of scholarly journals on a table, including the Journal of Interactive Marketing Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles" or "Research Articles," these are

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
- "Peer review" means the article is approved by other experts before publication
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

Find Articles:

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal." Several datasets are also available.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed journals, business magazines, and trade journals; profiles of more than 1 million companies; and more than 10,000 industry and market reports.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.

Full List of Management Databases

Two hands with pens reviewing bar graph business reports These commercially produced reports usually include data and analysis of industries and the companies within them.

Find Industry Reports and Data

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel produces hundreds of reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. Each report that Mintel publishes provides an overview of a market's dynamics and prospects.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering public and non-public companies and key executives.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Contains financial statements and ratios for large publicly-held U.S. and international firms.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Some full text articles available online.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Do a keyword search and have access to a variety of publications and reports.
Census Bureau- Employment Data
The Census Bureau collects data that measure the state of the nation's workforce, including employment and unemployment levels, as well as weeks and hours worked.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.

Books on a shelf and a person reading on a kindle Unlike journal articles, books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book! Find relevant information quickly by reviewing chapter titles or checking the index (back of the book).

Find Books

OneSearch (Rod Library) This link opens in a new window
UNI's online catalog
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
More than 170,000 books on subjects including Art, Business and economics, Education, Language, Literary criticism, Medical, Performing arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political science, Religion, Social science, Technology and engineering
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas, sheet music titles and reports.

Unlike journal articles, magazines:

Provide information on popular topics
Are usually short and written for a wide audience
Often has glossy pictures and/or advertisements

Find Magazines

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite, an EBSCO database, is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.
GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from many leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Some full text articles available online.

physical newspaper and tablet with news Unlike journal articles, news:

Is written for a broad audience
Is often easier to understand than research and shorter than both research and books
Contains recent information

Find News

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
A newspaper specializing in business.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Some full text articles available online.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.

Full List of News Databases