Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

GEOG 5150 - Regional Geography of Latin America - Millsaps

A portal to library resources and databases bet suited for research on the regional geography of Latin America. Includes best practices for locating information in Google, Google Scholar, and Rod Library databases.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar links provided by Rod Library when off campus to link to research purchased for you by UNI.

To locate recent research  in Google Scholar you will need to use the "Since" option on the upper-left hand side of the results page.

To learn more about using quotes and the intitle: command visit Advanced Research Techniques: Google Scholar 

Web of Science

Web of Science (also known as Web of Knowledge) searches high-quality journals across all disciplines within the social sciences.

Web of Science offers a unique search system - search by "topic" (subject) - that often finds research hidden from other databases.

The results of Web of Science can be ranked by the impact a research article has had on the literature.

Academic Search Elite

    

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts locates research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews.

Searches in Sociological Abstracts can be limited to the article title or abstract or subject heading.

Results in Sociological Abstracts can be limited by publication date and to peer reviewed journals.

    

OneSearch - Rod Library Database

JSTOR

JSTOR provides full access to older research.  

To limit your search to "education" check the "Education" box below the search blanks prior to searching. 

Setting JSTOR to "Education" will allow you to search the full text of 175 education journals - some dating back to the 19th century.