Research Guides: Youth Literature and Book Lists: Youth Literature Resources

Youth Literature Resources

Search these resources to find book reviews, intellectual freedom tools, book challenge resources, author and illustrator biographies, and Iowa Core academic standards.

Book Review Resources

Please note that some of these databases and review resources are only available to UNI students, faculty, and staff.

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database)
This source provides entries for old and new books. It includes bibliographic citations, award information, readability levels, and reviews from well-known journals. Search by author, title, or keyword.
Children's Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)
This source provides entries for fiction and nonfiction books and magazines geared toward children, grades PreK-6, as well as review sources and other professional development tools for librarians and school media specialists.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection (H.W.Wilson)
This source provides entries for fiction and nonfiction books and magazines geared toward children and teens, grades 5-9, as well as review sources and other professional development tools for librarians and school media specialists.
Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)
This source provides entries for fiction and nonfiction books and magazines geared toward teens, grades 9-12, as well as review sources and other professional development tools for librarians and school media specialists.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)
This source provides access to education scholarship dealing with a wide range of subjects, including book reviews from School Library Journal, Horn Book Magazine, Booklist, and other trade journals.

Children's Technology Review (CTREX)
An independent, subscriber supported review and curation service designed to help parents, teachers, researchers, publishers and librarians find interactive media products. Reviews evaluate digital media with both numerical rubrics and narrative information about the experience.
Notable Children's Digital Media
This ALSC/ALA committee evaluates, selects, annotates, and presents high-quality digital media for children ages 0-14.
Articles for Families on Digital Media
This article collection is managed by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).
All Children's and Young Adult Literature Databases
UNI has access to a number of databases specific to K-12 students and educators. These databases contain primary and secondary information about subjects such as history and geography as well as magazine guides, encyclopedias, research, and much more.

Book Challenge and Intellectual Freedom Resources

Learn about book challenges in school and public libraries with resources to navigate policies, understand frequently challenged books, and explore advocacy tools and support from national organizations.

Book Challenges in School & Public Libraries
This guide has information for two groups of people: those who are working through school/library policies related to challenges, and those who are looking for information about frequently challenged books.
American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom
Information about the office, banned book week information, and links to Intellectual Freedom Action News is included here.
Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)
The CCBC is a non-circulating research library based out of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Its intellectual freedom page contains information about the definitions and principles of intellectual freedom, helpful Q & A forums, a step-by-step guide for what to do when materials have been challenged, links to advocacy groups, and a number of other helpful resources.

Biographical Information on Authors and Illustrators

Find biographical information on authors and illustrators through databases and websites.

Gale Literature: Something About the Author
This resource provides web access to the Something About the Author series and includes options to search for author biographies, autobiographies, and obituaries.
TeachingBooks.net
This resource offers a database of K-12 instructional materials such as guide books, lesson plans, book lists, and author/illustrator biographical information and audio name pronunciation.

Readingrockets.org
This resource offers videos and podcasts of author/illustrator interviews. It also features book lists and biographical information.

Iowa Core

Explore the Iowa Core for K–12 academic standards, along with resources for planning, implementation, and support.

Iowa Core
The Iowa Department of Education's Iowa Core webpage lays out the academic expectations for Iowa's K-12 students and provides information concerning implementation and planning, a helpful Q & A forum, webcasts, and the history of the Iowa Core.