Digital objects / materials are records in ArchivesSpace describing online archival material. These records contain brief information about a digital item (such as the title) and a link to access the material. Please note that these links will take you to an external site with the digital object, including UNI ScholarWorks and the Internet Archive.
Digital objects are connected to a resource record or archival object in the finding aids, which provide contextual information about how the digital item fits within a larger collection, series, or file. There are a couple of ways that the digital material is linked within a collection record.
The first is via a box with a link to the material online, which appears in the main body of the finding aid.
Digital materials are also linked in the bottom portion of a finding aid, in the “Expand All” section. If a collection includes digital material, the “Digital Material” section will be populated with a link to the digital object record. From the digital object record, you can then access the digital content.
Please note that the majority of SC&UA materials are not digitized and are not available online. The digital materials included in ArchivesSpace are a sampling of digitized materials. We are happy to digitize collection items upon request. Please email us at libarchives@uni.edu with any questions.
Click on the “Digital Materials” tab in the navigation bar.
Once on the Digital Materials page, you can browse all available online digital materials. ArchivesSpace provides a search box and to further narrow your search.
When you select a digital object record to view, you will be taken to the record’s page. This includes a link to the digital content and its unique identifier. Importantly, it also contains a “Linked Records” section, which points you back to the collection in which the digital object is from. This is crucial as it supplies contextual information about how the digital material relates to a broader collection of materials.
