Finding aids are written guides that provide contextual information about archival collections and contain information about a collection’s contents. They are good starting points when beginning archival research, as they can help determine which collections might be of interest or use to you. Types of information to expect include:
Archival collections are usually described at the broader collection level before identifying their smaller components (such as series, folders, etc.). This means that finding aids are typically not itemized and do not list every sheet of paper included. You might have to read through entire folders with relevant titles to find the information that you need.
In archival collections, the context of a collection - and the way that specific materials within a collection relate to one another - is very important. Archival collections are often most meaningful when considered as a whole, rather than as isolated materials.
Below are archival terms used throughout the ArchivesSpace database.
Repository
A place where records are stored and maintained. Current repositories in UNI Special Collections & University Archives ArchivesSpace are:
Collection
A set of archival materials sharing the same creator and / or donor, or have a similar scope.
Series
A group of records (within a collection) that are arranged together due to their similar origin or use. Examples include administrative records, programs & ephemera, and publications. Series are purely an intellectual way of grouping materials together. The Files within are the materials themselves.
Sub-Series
A subset of documents and other materials within a collection series that are grouped together by type, form, or content. For example, correspondence or audiovisual materials may be grouped together in sub-series.
File
A group of documents and other materials grouped together, usually in a folder. In UNI ArchivesSpace, when you see “File” in a collection finding aid, usually this will mean that the materials are in a folder.
Record Groups
Browse collections based on organizational groupings, which roughly align with the university’s organizational or administrative structure, such as departments and offices. Record series within these record groups are the discrete, distinct collections
Here are a few terms that you will encounter while browsing in ArchivesSpace:
Resource Record
The main record to access information about a collection. This is typically the collection’s finding aid.
Archival Object
A component of a resource record that corresponds to the various archival description levels listed above (series, file, etc.). In some cases in UNI ArchivesSpace, Archival Objects also function as collection finding aids.
Digital Object Record
A record used to note the existence of digital materials. It provides basic information about the digital material, as well as a link to access the materials when applicable.
Identifier
A collection’s unique record series number that identifies it within the broader repository. Each collection has its own identifier, which can be found at the top of a collection’s main page.
Further information about what is contained within a finding aid can be found in the “Navigate ArchivesSpace section.
Collection Overview
This page provides the bulk of a finding aid’s content, including scope and contents note, dates, creator information, any access and restrictions information, biographical / historical notes, and other descriptive information.
Collection Organization
This page contains a view of how the boxes and folders, and their contents, are organized. In essence, it is a box and folder level view of the collection. We recommend using this view if you’re browsing the collection.
Container Inventory
This page displays the collection’s top containers (usually boxes) and allows you to navigate the collection according to that top container. For example, if you just wanted to see what was in a collection’s Box 2, you could do so here.
