Battle Analysis

This is the first Civil War atlas to depict multiple aspects of the war's action, month by month, from April 1861 through May-June 1865. Fifty full-color maps - one for each month of the war - convey as never before a sense of the war's progression on all fronts - battles, sieges, infantry campaigns, naval operations, cavalry raids, and even shifts of national frontiers. One set of additional maps provides background into the political state of the nation as it headed into the war; another set covers the war as it was fought in the western reaches of the country. The text on facing pages supports each map with extra facts and figures, while the atlas's big 14 x 10 format allows for exceptional line clarity, color, and detail.

Over 8,500 battles and sieges are covered-easily the most exhaustive reference source on this basic aspect of military history. Thoroughly vetted by an expert board of period and regional experts, this dictionary offers easy to find A-Z entries that cover conflicts from practically every era and place of human history. In addition to exhaustive coverage of World War II, World War I, the American Civil War, medieval wars, and conflicts during the classical era, this dictionary covers battles fought in pre-modern Africa, the Middle East, Ancient and Medieval India, China, and Japan, and early meso-American warfare as well.

Maps supplement descriptive narratives of more than 350 battles, from battles over Spanish conquest in 1517 to Mexican border raids in 1916, providing information on each battle's context, important leaders, and outcome.

The classic ploys: Cannae 216 BC, the double envelopment / Sean KcKnight; Chancellorsville 1863, the flank attack / Ian Hogg; The second battle of Alamein 1942, the proper application of overwhelming force / Niall Barr -- Surprise: Crécy 1346, surprise against the odds / Matthew Bennett; Cambrai 1917, the new invention / Lloyd Clark; Blitzkrieg 1940, the shock of surprise / Sean McKnight -- Misunderstanding: Waterloo 1815, the limits of enterprise / Niall Barr; Balaklava 1854, the misunderstood order / Andrew Lambert; Gallipoli 1915, too many commanders / G. D. Sheffield -- Mission impossible: Kunersdorf 1759, the failure of reconnaissance / Tim Bean; The first day of the Somme 1916, the great illusion / Lloyd Clark; The battle of the bulge 1944, progressive unreality / Stephen Badsey -- Understanding the enemy: Austerlitz 1805, underestimating Napoleon? / Tim Bean; Isandlwana 1879, dividing your forces / Edmund Yorke; Singapore 1942, the impregnable fortress / Duncan Anderson -- Narrow margins: Gettysburg 1863, the high tide of the confederacy / G.D. Sheffield; The first battle of Ypres 1914, the narrowest margin / Stephen Badsey; Crete 1941, the defeat of both sides / Ian Hogg.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History offers both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. At a time of war, in which ongoing efforts to recalibrate American diplomacy are as imperative as they are perilous, the Oxford Encyclopedia is the first recourse for scholars wishing to deepen their understanding of the crucial features of the historical and contemporary foreign policy landscape and its perennially martial components.

A survey of the military aspects of the American Revolutionary War, covering the period 1763-1783. Entries include biographies as well as discussions of campaigns and strategy; battles, skirmishes, and naval actions; weaponry; political issues and events; and how the European powers participated in the conflict. For students, historians, and general readers.

A gold mine for the historian as well as the Civil War buff, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War offers a concise, comprehensive overview of the major personalities and pivotal events of the war that redefined the American nation. Drawing upon recent research that has moved beyond battles and military campaigns to address the significant roles played by civilians, women, and African Americans, the 250 entries explore the era in all its complexity and unmistakable human drama. Here of course are the major battles and campaigns, ranging from Gettysburg and Shiloh to Sherman's March to the Sea, as well as biographical entries on everyone from Abraham Lincoln and Robert E. Lee to Frederick Douglass, Clara Barton, and Walt Whitman. But the book also features entries on a wealth of other matters--music, photography, religion, economics, foreign affairs, medicine, prisons, legislative landmarks, military terms and weaponry, political events, social reform, women in the war, and much more. In addition, charts, newly commissioned maps, chronologies, and period photographs provide an appealing visual context. Suggestions for further reading at the end of most entries and a guide to more general sources in an appendix introduce the reader to the literature on a specific topic. A list of Civil War museums and historic sites and a representative sampling of Civil War websites also point to resources that can be tailored to individual interests. A quick, convenient, user-friendly guide to all facets of the Civil War, this new updated edition also serves as an invaluable gateway to the rich historical record now available, perfect for virtually anyone who wants to learn more about this tumultuous period in our history.

Drawn from the award-winning 5-volume Encyclopedia of War, this valuable, one-volume reference provides readers with essential information on the conflicts and concepts that shaped global warfare in the twentieth-century and up to the present day. Provides essential coverage of twentieth-century warfare across the world Incorporates entries on all major wars, conflicts and concepts in the study of warfare during the period Features detailed coverage of the First and Second World Wars, along with conflicts including the Russo-Japanese War, the Greco-Turkish War, the Falklands Conflict, the Soviet Invasion of Afghanistan, the Gulf Wars, the War Against Terrorism, and the Somalian Civil War Covers topics including chemical warfare, ethnic cleansing, psychological warfare, and women and war Creates an affordable and handy personal reference for students of modern and contemporary history, professional scholars, and military history enthusiasts Comprises authoritative, up-to-date content - each entry ranging from 1,000 to 6,000 words - written by the best international scholars

Providing a reference on training for all those involved in the food supply chain, this volume shows staff training to be an essential prerequisite to food safety, and therefore crucial to the success of a food company. Food safety and quality management systems are only as good as the people who develop and implement them and the difference between successful and unsuccessful companies often relates to training and behaviour control.

Thoroughly revised to include 25 conflicts not covered in the previous edition, as well as expanded and updated information on previous coverage, this illustrated reference presents descriptions and analyses of more than 170 significant post-World War II conflicts around the globe. Organized by region for ease of access, "Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II, Second Edition" provides clear, in-depth explanations of events not covered in such detail in any other reference source. Including more than 180 detailed maps and 150 photos, the set highlights the conflicts that dominate today's headlines and the events that changed the course of late twentieth-century history.

The most comprehensive reference treatment of "The Forgotten War" to date, this three volume set chronicles its political, social, and military history. The Encyclopedia of the Korean War is the most comprehensive reference work on the war to date and will set a new standard for military history. Following on the heels of the triumphant Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War, this work offers both Korean and U.S. perspectives in an unbiased format. Volume 3 is devoted entirely to primary source documents never before gathered in one reference work. * Over 600 A-Z entries, many built on new information from Russian and Chinese archives * Over 100 contributors, including both civilian professors and military officers * 147 primary source documents never before gathered in one reference work * More than 150 illustrations * 20 detailed maps * Chronology of Korean history, glossary, and general bibliography

The largest and most comprehensive study to date of one of the longest and most divisive conflicts in U.S. history. ABC-CLIO presents the largest and most comprehensive study to date of the wars in Vietnam. This authoritative, three volume masterwork details early U.S. involvement in Vietnam and brings Vietnamese history to the present with discussions of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam from 1975 through 1997. Students and researchers will find that this comprehensive work includes more coverage of diverse topics, and more information on individual Vietnamese and American participants and earlier, relevant periods in Vietnamese history, than any other encyclopedia of its kind. * Over 900 A-Z entries with extensive cross references after each entry * Biographies of key Vietnamese and American participants * 200 primary source documents * 150 illustrations and 22 maps

Vietnam was the most controversial and diverse war in 20th-century American History. Its legacy of confusion and contention continues to mar our understanding of what happened and why - and what Vietnam means for future generations. This volume sets out to shed light on the people, events and actions involved in the war. It contains three types of articles: brief, dictionary-like entries (50 to 1000 words) for easy reference to personalities, military units, and battles; longer articles (1000 to 2500 words) on major figures such as John F. Kennedy, Ho Chi Minh and Henry Kissinger; and extended essays (5000 to 10,000 words) that describe and interpret major themes including The Land and the People of Vietnam, Diplomacy, The Search for Peace The War at Home and The Media. The encyclopaedia is well illustrated with more than 200 maps, photographs and drawings that add important visual information to this text. For ease of use, the encyclopaedia is in alphabetical order with extensive cross-references, blind entries, and bibliographies.

This in-depth study of U.S. involvement in the modern Middle East carefully weighs the interplay of domestic, cultural, religious, diplomatic, international, and military events in one of the world's most troubled regions. The monumental, five-volume The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts is a must-have resource for anyone seeking to comprehend U.S. actions in this volatile region. Under the expert editorship of Spencer C. Tucker, the encyclopedia traces 20th- and 21st-century U.S. involvement in the Middle East and south-central Asia, concentrating on the last three decades. Beginning with the 1980-1988 Iran-Iraq War, it covers the 1979-1989 Soviet occupation of Afghanistan, the 1991 Persian Gulf War, allied punitive actions against Iraq during the 1990s, the Afghanistan War, the Iraq War, and the Global War on Terror. Many smaller military actions against Iran, Iraq, Libya, Afghanistan, and other regimes that have been involved in international terrorism are also included. Diplomacy, religion as it pertains to Middle East conflict, and social/cultural developments are other key subjects of analysis, as is the interplay of politics with military policy in the United States and other nations involved in the region. Hundreds of alphabetically organized entries on wars, political events, religious and cultural issues, and diplomatic initiatives, as well as in-depth essays on background material, area and regional analyses, and biographical entries An introduction by General Anthony Zinni, USMC (Ret), former commander in chief of U.S. Central Command A chronologically arranged final volume comprised of primary and contemporary documents with individual introductions A detailed chronology of events Cross-references and books for further reading appended to each entry A bibliography of over 450 books that are the latest in the field