Research Guides: Get Started with Rod Library: Virtual Care Package

During these strange and challenging times, we thought it might be fun to share some light-hearted content to, hopefully, help brighten your day. We have relaxation music, animal live streams, eBooks, and virtual places explore that we hope you will enjoy.
Remember to give yourself a break.

All the best & stay safe,
Rod Library

Listen

LeVar Burton Reads
The best short fiction, handpicked by the best voice in podcasting. In every episode, host LeVar Burton (Roots, Reading Rainbow, Star Trek) invites you to take a break from your daily life, and dive into a great story.
Office Ladies
The Office co-stars and best friends, Jenna Fischer and Angela Kinsey, are doing the ultimate The Office re-watch podcast for you. Each week Jenna and Angela will break down an episode of The Office and give exclusive behind the scene stories that only two people who were there, can tell you.
Serial
Serial is a podcast from the creators of This American Life, hosted by Sarah Koenig. Serial tells one story — a true story — over the course of a season.
Switched On Pop
Musicologist Nate Sloan and songwriter Charlie Harding pull back the curtain on how pop hits work their magic. You’ll fall in love with songs you didn’t even know you liked.
Code Switch
Code Switch is a multi-racial, multi-generational team of NPR journalists who cover race and identity.
Top Ten Podcasts for College Students
Find your new favorite podcast here!

Libraries & Coffee Shops

Missing the sounds of a library while you study? Here are some library soundscapes and other background noise to help you focus.

Other Locales

Watch

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming film database which includes educational and other films. Streaming is available on many devices, and films can be used in courses as well as eLearning. Rod Library has access to a collection of specific licensed titles. See this FAQ for additional details about how to find UNI-licensed streaming films through Kanopy.

World’s Largest Cave: Hang Son Doong, Vietnam
Explore this incredible cave in Vietnam with National Geographic.
The Vatican
Take a trip through the Vatican and view the gorgeous art throughout!
Smithsonian Museums
Explore the collections of the world's largest museum, education and research complex.
Online Exhibits from the British Museum
View over 7,000 items currently in the British Museum.
Google Earth
Provides search capabilities and the ability to pan, zoom, rotate, and tilt the view of the Earth.

Read

OneSearch (Rod Library) This link opens in a new window
UNI's online catalog
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas, sheet music titles and reports.

Discovering creative writing Harper, Graeme

The Reincarnated Giant: An Anthology of Twenty-First-Century Chinese Science Fiction THEODORE HUTERS ; MINGWEI SONG

White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism DiAngelo, Robin ; Dyson, Michael Eric

Conan Doyle's wide world : Sherlock Holmes and beyond Lycett, Andrew author.

I've been meaning to tell you : a letter to my daughter Chariandy, David

Explore UNI

UNI Interactive Digital Map
The Northern Iowan
Keep up with what's happening on campus and in the College Hill community.
KULT College Radio Station at UNI
Special Collections & University Archives at Rod Library
Historical information and essays
UNI Museum
Digital exhibits
UNI Art Gallery
Enjoy the latest online exhibition
UNI Scholarworks at Rod Library
A repository for the research and creative output of the University of Northern Iowa.
Waterloo Cedar Falls Symphony
Live from the Archives Series
UNI History and Traditions
UNI Outdoors