Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

TESOL

Finding Journal Articles

Information about topics and issues in TESOL and linguistics can be found in a number of scholarly journals and magazines. Indexes and abstracts index the contents of such journals. Some indexes are available online. To search those available online, go to the Rod Library home page. Select the desired index or abstract title from the Research Databases A-Z  under the Articles tab.

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC - U.S. Department of Education
ERIC is a comprehensive database which covers all areas of education, including TESOL. It indexes and abstracts articles from about 800 education and related journals. It also indexes and abstracts documents such as research reports, bibliographies, curricular materials, and conference papers. The documents are available on microfiche in the library's Microforms Area. Documents published in recent years are also available full text online. When searching the ERIC system use the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors to find appropriate subject terms.

Education Full Text
Education Index (print)
UNI Index/Abstract L 11 E 27
Library has: 1929-1999 (print); 1983- (electronic)
Covers all areas of education, including TESOL, and indexes about 400 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs in series. The electronic version contains abstracts and, for recent years, the full text of articles from almost 200 journals and magazines. There is a substantial overlap with ERIC. However, the full-text feature and the number of journals only indexed in this abstract make it worthwhile searching it in addition to ERIC.

Academic OneFile
Indexes periodicals in many subject areas including education. Approximately half of the articles are full text.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Absracts LLBA (CSA)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
UNI Index/Abstract P 1 L321
Library has: 1967-2001 (print); 1973- (electronic)
An international abstracting service covering journals in the fields of linguistics, applied linguistics, language behavior, and related disciplines. Entries are arranged under subjects such as psycholinguistics, phonology, sociolinguistics, or special education. Use the subject index to find information on your topic.

Language Teaching
UNI Index/Abstract PB 35 L32
Library has: 1968-2005 in print
Electronic version available through Cambridge Journals.
Contains abstracts of articles on language teaching and applied linguistics from a very select number of international journals. Each issue also features a state-of-the-art review article on an important research topic in the area of language teaching or applied linguistics.

Dissertations and Theses: A&I (ProQuest)
Indexes doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities in North America and Europe.  Citations for dissertations and theses are available from 1861 to the present.  Abstracts are available from 1980 to the present for dissertations, and from 1988 to the present for masters theses.  Many titles after 1997 have free 24 page previews available. (Previously published as Dissertation Abstracts International and as Dissertation Abstracts  at UNI Index/Abstract Z 5053 D57.)

PsycInfo (EBSCO)
Psychological Abstracts (print)
UNI Index/Abstract BF 1 P65
Library has: 1927-2002 (print); 1887- (electronic)
This resource indexes and abstracts articles from about 1,300 journals and book chapters in the area of psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Especially useful for research on testing.