Skip to Main Content

Youth Literature Award Winners

Need to find award-winning books? This guide will help you find winners and honor books for many prominent youth literature awards in the UNI Youth Collection.

Pura Belpré Award: Introduction

This award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), divisions of the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate.

2024 Medal Winner: Children's Narrative

2024 Honor Books: Children's Narrative

2024 Medal Winner: Youth Illustration

2024 Honor Books: Youth Illustration

2024 Medal Winner: Youth Adult Narrative

2024 Honor Books: Young Adult Narrative

2023 Medal Winner: Children's Narrative

2023 Honor Books: Children's Narrative

2023 Medal Winner: Youth IllustratIon

2023 Honor Books: Youth Illustration

2023 Medal Winner: Young Adult Narrative

2023 Honor Books: Young Adult Narrative