Skip to Main Content

Youth Literature Award Winners

Need to find award-winning books? This guide will help you find winners and honor books for many prominent youth literature awards in the UNI Youth Collection.


American Indian Youth Literature Award (ALA / AILA)

Américas Award (CLASP)

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature (ALA / APALA)

Mildred L. Batchelder Award (ALA / ALSC)

Boston Globe-Horn Book Award

Randolph Caldecott Medal (ALA / ALSC)

Coretta Scott King Book Award (ALA / EMIERT)

Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults (ALA / YALSA)

Ezra Jack Keats Award (Ezra Jack Keats Foundation + USM)

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award (ALA / ALSC)

Iowa Book Awards (IASL)

Lambda Literary Award (Lambda Literary)

William C. Morris YA Debut Award (ALA / YALSA)

National Book Award for Young People’s Literature (National Book Foundation)

New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books

Due to the covid-19 pandemic, the New York Times/New York Public Library Best Illustrated Awards were canceled for 2020. They will resume in fall 2021.

John Newbery Medal (ALA / ALSC)

Orbis Pictus Award (NCTE)

Michael L. Printz Award (ALA / YALSA)

Pura Belpré Award (ALA / ALSC + YALSA + REFORMA)

Schneider Family Book Award (ALA)

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal (ALA / ALSC)

Stonewall Book Award (ALA / RRT)

Sydney Taylor Book Award (ALA / AJL)

Charlotte Zolotow Award (CCBC @ UW-Madison)