Getting Started - CAP 3157 / RELS 3157 - Monsters, Vampires, and Religion: An Awesome Alliance - Research Guides at University of Northern Iowa

Search Advice

A few things to keep in mind while searching:

Broad search tools like OneSearch and Google Scholar will usually give you too many results. They are good places to use specific search terms.
Subject-specific databases like ATLA will often give you too few results. They are good places to start with broad search terms.
Look at abstracts and subjects terms on relevant articles to find other potential search terms.
Once you find something useful, or even something that's a neighbor to something useful, USE THE BIBLIOGRAPHY to find other sources, and look for other sources that cite that article. (There are instructions for this on the "Advanced Search Techniques" page.) Remember to also look for sources outside that one family tree of scholarship, though!
- You can also look up your novel in Google Scholar to find scholarly papers that have cited it.
If you're not finding what you need or you're not sure how to interpret what you've found, please e-mail or make an appointment to meet with your librarian. Links are in the box on the left.

Broad Search Tools

OneSearch (Rod Library) This link opens in a new window
Search Rod Library's collections, including most databases
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this Google Scholar link to get "Find it! @ UNI" suggestions on articles, books, and other resources we may have purchased access to.

Find Specific Databases

Databases A-Z
Find databases related to any subject area here. As you cite your sources, be sure to include which databases you found them in as part of the citation and/or annotation.

Some Possible Database Choices

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
ATLA with ATLASerials (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries & publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, & social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press & the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995; other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press & scholarly society publishers joining each year.
GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from many leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite, an EBSCO database, is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.

This guide was originally developed by Katelyn Browne.