Research Guides: Online Book Display: Caste Community Read

Caste Community Read

Resources related to the Cedar Valley Community Read

Selected works from the bibliography.

Caste (Oprah's Book Club) by Isabel Wilkerson
Call Number: Available as E-book
ISBN: 0593230264
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
An eye-opening story of people and history, and a reexamination of what lies under the surface of ordinary lives and of American life today.
Dalits in Modern India by S. M. Michael
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 8132101340
Publication Date: 2007
This second, revised and enlarged edition looks back at the aspirations and struggle of the marginalised Dalit masses and looks forward to a new humanity based on equality, social justice and human dignity.
Deep South, a social anthropological study of caste and class by Allison Davis; Burleigh B. Gardner; Mary R. Gardner
Call Number: HN79.A2 D3
ISBN: 9781570038150
Publication Date: 1941
Published in 1941, Deep South is the cooperative effort of a team of social anthropologists to document the economic, racial, and cultural character of the Jim Crow South through a study of a representative rural Mississippi community.
The Drowned and the Saved by Primo Levi; Raymond Rosenthal (Translator)
Call Number: D810.J4 L45313 1988
ISBN: 0671632809
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A meditation on the meaning of the Nazi exterminations after the passing of forty years reveals how memories of the Holocaust have been filtered and rearranged by both the oppressor and the victims.
Essays on the Caste System by Célestin Bouglé by Bouglé, Célestin
Call Number: DS422.C3 B6513 1971
ISBN: 0521080932
Publication Date: 1971
The English translation of: Essais sur le régime des castes. Chapters include The essence and reality of the caste system -- The roots of the caste system -- Caste under British administration.
The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin
Call Number: E185.61 .B195 1993
ISBN: 067974472X
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
A national bestseller when it first appeared in 1963, The Fire Next Time gave passionate voice to the emerging civil rights movement--and still lights the way to understanding race in America today.
Gendering caste : through a feminist lens by Uma Chakravarti, Maithreyi Krishnaraj
ISBN: 9353287812
Publication Date: 2018
Caste-based marriage and control over women's sexuality have been crucial for the continuation of the caste system in India.. Revised edition which analyses the recent socio-economic and political changes that have taken place.
The Invention of the White Race by Theodore W. Allen
Call Number: E185 .A44 1994
ISBN: 9780860916604
Publication Date: 1994
Theodore W. Allen tells the story of how America’s ruling classes created the category of the “white race” as a means of social control. 2 volumes.
Learning from the Germans by Susan Neiman
Call Number: DD256.48 .N45 2019
ISBN: 9780374184469
Publication Date: 2019
Each country has its particular history. Studying the incidents in Germany shows that society can atone for past crimes and improve even though doing so is a difficult process.
Racism Without Racists by Eduardo Bonilla-Silva
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781442220560
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Documents how, beneath our contemporary conversation about race, lies a full-blown arsenal of arguments, phrases, and stories that whites use to account for--and ultimately justify--racial inequalities.
Natural Hierarchies by Chris Smaje
Call Number: HT621 .S53 2000
ISBN: 0631209484
Publication Date: 2000-07-13
Provides an approach to understanding the emergence and development of social rank through race and caste.
Whitewashing Race: the Myth of a Color-Blind Society by Michael K. Brown; Martin Carnoy; Elliott Currie; Troy Duster; David B. Oppenheimer
Call Number: E-book and available at E185.615 .W465 2003
ISBN: 1282358103
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
This book brings together a team of highly respected sociologists, political scientists, economists, criminologists, and legal scholars to scrutinize the logic and evidence behind the widely held belief in a color-blind society and to provide an alternative explanation for continued racial inequality in the United States.

The Cedar Valley Antiracism Coalition (CVAC) hosted a Community Book Read of Caste: the Origins of our discontent in October of 2021. See the links below for more information about the Community Read.

Cedar Valley Community Read Website
Information about how to join a group, resources for group leaders, and a registration link for the zoom panel discussions.
2021 Community Book Read YouTube Channel
Local leaders discuss important issues addressed in Caste.

Local information about the community read

Book Reviews

More by Isabel Wilkerson

The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson
Call Number: E185.6 .W685 2011
ISBN: 9780679763888
Publication Date: 2011-10-04
Chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history: the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities.

Wilkerson, Isabel. "Race to the Bottom."
The New Republic 243.3 (2012): 10. Web.
Wilkerson, Isabel. "The Road to Freedom."
Smithsonian 47.5 (2016): 38. Web.

Stay Tuned with Preet : America's Caste System (with Isabel Wilkerson)
Preet Bharara interviews Isabel Wilkerson on Stay Tuned with Preet podcast. Includes transcript.

It's More Than Racism: Isabel Wilkerson Explains America's 'Caste' System Transcript
Transcript of interview

Explore the African American experience through digital archives and exhibits.

African American Museum of Iowa Online Collection Database
The African American Museum of Iowa’s collection chronicles the history and culture of Iowa’s African American community.
Blackpast.org
Major digitized archival holdings in African American history
National Archives: African American Heritage
The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the Black experience.
State Historical Society of Iowa - Great Migration
Primary source sets for education related to the Great Migration.

Recommended Databases

Searching for eBooks and scholarly/research articles? Start your search in the databases below.

Need help with your research? Schedule a research consultation with a librarian.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, news, and reports exploring issues about diversity, equity, and inclusion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on behavioral science and mental health, including empirical studies, and qualitative and quantitative research. Access the former version of APA PsycInfo (EBSCO), which includes the option to search cited articles.

Recommended subject headings to begin your search:

African Americans
Asians
Boundaries
Caste
Caste-based discrimination
Citizenship
Civil Rights
Classification
Collective Representation
Dalits
Economic aspects
Employment discrimination
Ethnic Identity
Ethnicity
Inequality
India
Minority & ethnic groups
Prejudices
Race
Race relations
Racism
Sharecropping
Social conditions
Social rights
Social stratification
Violence
Voting rights

Select Journal Articles

'Origin': a moving call to action
Kirkus Feature Articles and Interviews, 2024
Aunjanue Ellis will play lead in 'Caste' film
Kirkus Feature Articles and Interviews, 2023
Financial Distress and Healthcare: A Study of Migrant Dalit Women Domestic Helpers in Bangalore, India
Journal of international women's studies, 2020-07-01, Vol.21 (5), p.COV4
From Bondage to Citizenship: A Comparison of African American and Indian Lower-Caste Mobilization in Two Regions of Deep Inequality
Comparative studies in society and history, 2020-10-01, Vol.62 (4), p.770-809

UNI Special Collections & University Archives

Index UNI: Civil Rights
Index UNI: Racism
Betty Jean Furgerson Interview
Janet McClain Papers
1980-2005
John D. Baskerville Papers
1988-2015
Waterloo Urban Ministry Records
1968-1978