Research Guides: Online Book Display: Spotlight on Mental Health

Spotlight on Mental Health

Resources

Race and Culture

Class, race, disability and mental health in higher education : questioning the access, success and progression of disadvantaged students by Mike Seal
ISBN: 1350247405
Publication Date: 2022
The book starts from the perspective that contemporary international higher education reproduces existing privileges, and the book goes on to argue that widening participation agendas should recognize the changing nature of academic life through a more inclusive, holistic approach.
Community Mental Health Engagement with Racially Diverse Populations by Alfiee M. Breland-Noble (Editor)
ISBN: 0128180129
Publication Date: 2020
Summarizes research on reducing mental health disparities in underserved populations through community engagement programs.
Intercultural Psychotherapy by Meryam Schouler-Ocak (Editor); Marianne C. Kastrup (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030240813
Publication Date: 2019-10-23
This book is intended to sensitise psychotherapists, to strengthen practitioners' intercultural competence and to encourage them to form psychotherapeutic relationships with people with an immigration background who are suffering from mental health problems.
Latina/o American Health and Mental Health: Practices and Challenges by Leticia Arellano-Morales; Erica T. Sosa
ISBN: 1440854904
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
This book details the state of the physical and mental health of many Latina/o American groups. Examines the prevalence of psychological disorders and chronic physical diseases among various Latina/o groups in the U.S.
Liberation Psychology by Lillian Comas-Diaz (Editor); Edil Torres Rivera (Editor)
ISBN: 9781433832086
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Liberation psychology challenges traditional Western-based psychology by offering an emancipatory approach to understanding and addressing oppression among individuals and groups.
My Grandmother's Hands by Resmaa Menakem
ISBN: 1942094485
Publication Date: 2017-08-21
The body is where our instincts reside and where we fight, flee, or freeze. My Grandmother's Hands is a call to action for Americans to recognize that racism is not about the head, but about the body.
Revenge of the Windigo by James B. Waldram
ISBN: 0802086004
Publication Date: 2004-04-23
What is known about Aboriginal mental health and mental illness, and on what basis is this 'knowing' assumed? Using interdisciplinary methods, the author critically assesses the enormous amount of information that has been generated on Aboriginal mental health, deconstructs it, and through this exercise, provides guidance for a new vein of research.
The Routledge International Handbook of Race, Culture and Mental Health by Roy Moodley (Editor); Eunjung Lee (Editor)
ISBN: 1351995537
Publication Date: 2020
This handbook presents a thorough examination of the intricate interplay of race, ethnicity, and culture in mental health.

Sexuality

Headcase by Stephanie Schroeder (Editor); Teresa Theophano (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190846596
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Headcase is a groundbreaking collection of personal reflections and artistic representations illustrating the intersection of mental wellness, mental illness, and LGBTQ identity, as well as the lasting impact of historical views equating queer and trans identity with mental illness.
LGBTQ Mental Health by Nadine Nakamura (Editor); Carmen H. Logie (Editor)
ISBN: 1433830914
Publication Date: 2019
This book provides an overview of LGBTQ mental health in non-Western countries or regions that have historically received little attention in the psychology literature.
The Oxford handbook of sexual and gender minority mental health by edited by Esther D. Rothblum
ISBN: 0190068000
Publication Date: 2020
Provides an overview of research on the mental health of sexual minorities, defined as individuals who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, or same-gender attracted.
Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health by Petros Levounis (Editor); Eric Yarbrough (Editor)
ISBN: 1615373101
Publication Date: 2020
The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities.

Gender

Black Dogs and Blue Words by Kimberly Emmons; Kimberly K. Emmons
ISBN: 0813549221
Publication Date: 2010-02-16
Black Dogs and Blue Words maintains that the techniques and language of depression marketing strategies--vague words such as "worry," "irritability," and "loss of interest"--target women and young girls and encourage self-diagnosis and self-medication. Depression narratives and other texts encode a series of gendered messages about health and illness. As depression and other forms of mental illness move from the medical-professional sphere into that of the consumer-public, the boundary at which distress becomes disease grows ever more encompassing, the need for remediation and treatment increasingly warranted.
A Clinician's Guide to Gender-Affirming Care by Sand C. Chang; Anneliese A. Singh; lore m. dickey
ISBN: 1684030528
Publication Date: 2018
This book provides practical exercises and skills clinicians can use to help transgender and gender-nonconforming clients thrive.
The psychology of men and masculinities by edited by Ronald F. Levant and Y. Joel Wong
ISBN: 1433826917
Publication Date: 2017
Explains and evaluates major theories, research, and applications, with an emphasis on the gender role strain paradigm and related theories.
Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health by Lucy A. Hutner (Editor); Lisa A. Catapano (Editor); Sarah M. Nagle-Yang (Editor); Katherine E. Williams (Editor); Lauren M. Osborne (Editor)
ISBN: 1615373861
Publication Date: 2021
The Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health is the first comprehensive text for understanding, diagnosing, and supporting the unique mental health needs of women and others who undergo female reproductive transitions during their entire reproductive life cycle.

Age

Building Great Mental Health Professional-Teacher Teams by Tonya C. Balch; Brandie M. Oliver; Chavez Phelps; Bradley V. Balch
ISBN: 1951075110
Publication Date: 2021
Practical and research-based, this resource empowers teachers, school counselors, psychologists, and social workers to harness their collective power to support learners in their social-emotional lives.
Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care by Maria Llorente (Editor)
ISBN: 9781615372058
Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Health care organizations are beginning to recognize the importance of cultural competence as it relates to efficiency, quality, and equity in the delivery of care within a competitive health care market, and Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care is designed to train mental health clinicians to deliver culturally sensitive care to an increasingly diverse patient population.
Delivering College Mental Health Services by Lee Keyes
ISBN: 1421428857
Publication Date: 2019
An essential guide to organizing and offering mental health services on campus.
Guidelines on mental health promotive and preventive interventions for adolescents by World Health Organization
ISBN: 9240011854
Publication Date: 2021
Adolescence is one of the most rapid and formative phases of human development. During this time adolescents develop knowledge and social-emotional skills and acquire attributes and abilities that are important for assuming adult roles and active contribution to society.
Mental Health and Academic Learning in Schools by Andrea Reupert
ISBN: 9781315310923
Publication Date: 2019
The book presents integrated models and strategies that serve to enhance student learning and promote wellbeing.

Socioeconomic Status

Mad or Bad? by Melissa Thompson
ISBN: 1593325568
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Explores the process through which criminal responsibility is constructed and reproduced on the basis of race and gender.
Mental Health and Poverty by Rob Poole; Robert Higgo; Catherine A. Robinson
ISBN: 9780521143967
Publication Date: 2013-12-19
his book brings together a body of knowledge from biomedical and social science literature that is of importance to both academics and practitioners. It explores a broad range of issues, including stigma, the recovery model and substance misuse. The role of childhood adversity is examined, together with other potential causal mechanisms.
Mental Health Development by World Health Organization Staff
ISBN: 9240685642
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
People with mental health conditions have been excluded from the development agenda despite being a marginalized and vulnerable group in countries all over the world. This report highlights the urgent need to redress this situation.

Faces of Mental Health | a short film about depression and suicide in students

TED talk | Why students should have mental health days

REACH - Award Winning Short Film - 2019 | Mental Health Awareness | English Narration

Speak (Short Film on Mental Health)

TED talk | Don't suffer from your depression in silence

TED talk | There's no shame in taking care of your mental health

TED talk | Why we all need to practice emotional first aid

Recommended Databases

Searching for eBooks and scholarly/research articles? Start your search in the databases below.

Need help with your research? Schedule a research consultation with a librarian.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, news, and reports exploring issues about diversity, equity, and inclusion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on behavioral science and mental health, including empirical studies, and qualitative and quantitative research. Access the former version of APA PsycInfo (EBSCO), which includes the option to search cited articles.

Recommended subject headings to begin your search:

Mental Health
Mental Health - Race
Mental Health - Ethnicity
Mental Health - Sexuality
Mental Health - Sexual Orientation
Mental Health - Gender
Mental Health - Age
Mental Health - Poverty
Mental Health - Prisons
Mental Health - Criminal Justice
Mental Health - Stigma
Mental Health - Inequalities
Mental Health - Social Factors
Depression
Anxiety
Therapy

UNI Student Health & Wellbeing
The University of Northern Iowa's Health & Wellbeing website includes links to the UNI Counseling Center, Recreation Services, the Student Health Clinic, and Student Wellness Services.

National Alliance on Mental Illness
NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation's largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.

Mindspring Mental Health Alliance Online Events
Upcoming and archived webinars from Mindspring Mental Health Alliance of the Greater Des Moines area.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Mental Health
Mental health is an important part of overall health and well-being. Mental health includes our emotional, psychological, and social well-being. It affects how we think, feel, and act. It also helps determine how we handle stress, relate to others, and make healthy choices. Mental health is important at every stage of life, from childhood and adolescence through adulthood.

World Health Organization
WHO works with Member States and partners to improve the mental health of individuals and society at large. This includes the promotion of mental well-being, the prevention of mental disorders, and efforts to increase access to quality mental health care that respects people’s human rights. In 2019, WHO launched the WHO Special Initiative for Mental Health (2019-2023): Universal Health Coverage for Mental Health to ensure access to quality and affordable care for mental health conditions in 12 priority countries to 100 million more people.

Non-traditional resources that users might enjoy.

The Anxiety Coaches Podcast
A relaxing and inspiring show sharing lifestyle changes to calm your nervous system.
In The Open Podcast
Join Mental Health America as we have open conversations about mental health. We're a group of people who want to change the way our communities talk about mental health. On this podcast, we share our lives, fight in the open, and work together to just figure things out.
Mad Chat
Mad Chat is a podcast that unpacks what our pop culture is telling us about madness & mental health.
MYKAHANI - Music For Your Moods
MYKAHANI has chosen these songs simply to highlight the amazing work other artists have already done in mental health.
Other People's Problems
Normally, therapy sessions are totally confidential — but this podcast opens the doors. Hillary McBride and her clients want to help demystify mental health.
Power Poetry
Did you know that poetry can be a great tool for maintaining healthy mental wellness? It's true! A clear mind comes from expression of thought and writing is a great vehicle for our thoughts.

A Beautiful Mind
ISBN: 9781417008674
Publication Date: 2006
The true story of a troubled Princeton mathematician who is able to overcome years of suffering from schizophrenia to win the Nobel Prize.
Benny & Joon
ISBN: 0792848179
Publication Date: 2009
A mentally ill young woman who lives with her older brother finds her love in an eccentric young man who models himself after Buster Keaton, but they have to overcome her brother's overprotectiveness.
Infinitely Polar Bear
Publication Date: 2015
Cam (Mark Ruffalo), a father with bipolar disorder, becomes the sole caregiver for his two daughters while his wife (Zoe Saldana) goes away to graduate school. Throughout the movie, Cam faces many challenges that make it difficult for him to take care of his daughters. However, despite the severity of his condition (and some unique parenting methods that accompany it), Cam learns that he is a good father who cares deeply for his family. Infinitely Polar Bear is a very meaningful portrayal of how families can be impacted by mental illness.
Inside Out
Publication Date: 2015
This quirky animation personifies the different emotions inside a young girl’s mind. Characters Joy, Sadness, Anger, Fear and Disgust try to help Riley through her family’s move to San Francisco. The emotions learn to work together to help Riley process the turmoil of adjusting to her new life. Inside Out is a clever, modern and well-made film that puts mental health into a new context.
Matchstick Men
ISBN: 9780790778228
Publication Date: 2004
Roy (Nicolas Cage) is a con artist working with his protégé to steal a lot of money. While he may be confident in his ability to steal from the rich, he struggles in other aspects of his life. His debilitating Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD), agoraphobia and panic attacks make it difficult for him to leave his apartment or even open a door. When he discovers he has a 14-year-old daughter, he’s forced to evaluate his career choices and isolated lifestyle. Matchstick Men is an honest depiction of the rituals and behaviors of someone living with OCD.
Orchestrating Change by Bullfrog Media
Publication Date: 2020
Orchestrating Change tells the inspiring story of the only orchestra in the world created by and for people living with mental illness and those who support them. The mission of Me2/Orchestra is to erase mental health stigma one concert at a time.
Silver Linings Playbook
Publication Date: 2013
After a stay in a mental health hospital, Pat Solatano (Bradley Cooper) is forced to move back in with his parents. His previously untreated symptoms of bipolar disorder caused him to lose both his wife and job, and he is determined to get his wife back. In his efforts, Pat meets Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence), who offers to help him in exchange for Pat being her ballroom dance partner. Silver Linings Playbook represents the range of emotion that often occurs with bipolar disorder in a real and riveting way.
The Skeleton Twins
Publication Date: 2014
The opening scene of Skeleton Twins shows the film’s main characters, Milo (Bill Hader) and Maggie (Kristen Wiig), both attempting suicide. Milo’s attempt lands him in the hospital, which reunites the brother and sister after 10 years of estrangement. Both characters express their depression in candid and humorous ways as they learn to accept each other and themselves.
Welcome to Me
Publication Date: 2015
Alice (Kristen Wiig) has just decided to go off her medications for Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) when she wins the lottery. She impulsively buys her own talk show with the money, in which she shares her opinions with the world. Although portrayed in a humorous way, Alice shows many of the traits of BPD, including mood swings and unstable relationships. As her behavior pushes away the people closest to her—including her therapist—she starts to take her mental health condition more seriously and works to keep her loved ones in her life. In the process, she falsifies the myth that a person with BPD is selfish.