Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TESOL

Resources for Workshop (Fall 2021)

Get Started on Your Research Paper

In TESOL 6299, you will be(gin) working on the research paper required for graduation. In order to create scholarship, a scholar must enter into conversation with the experts that came before them. This requires being able to locate, consume, and make meaning of information. This guide will help guide your process in locating effective resources and using them ethically.

Search Databases

Databases allow you to search lots of content at once. Unfortunately, each database contains different published content depending on its scope.

Browse Discipline-Specific Journals (not indexed in our databases)

Full-text

Other Resources to Know

Interlibrary Loan (is your friend)

Contrary to what Google would have you believe, most information is not free. Rod Library pays a lot of money for the resources you access through our databases, unfortunately, budgets never go as far as we wish they would. If we do not have access to the material you need, our Interlibrary Loan staff will try to get it for you. 

In addition to filling out the form, many of our databases include a yellow "Find It" button. yellow find it button

This button will sometimes open the article's full-text from another product to which we subscribe. However, if we do not have full-text access, it will take you to a library catalog (OneSearch) screen where you can "Request from ILLiad."

NOTE: You must sign in to your Rod Library account using your CatID to see this option in the library catalog.

Google Scholar (may or may not be)

Google Scholar search bar

There are some things I love about Google Scholar, but like most things, there are downsides.

  1. Because Google doesn't make money off of this product, I'm always afraid one day we will wake up and they will have decided to shut it down. (RIP Google Reader 2005-2013).
  2. Google Scholar indexes metadata from the free web. It does not actually have permission to share this scholarship. This means returns are often nothing more than abstracts and paywalls. DO NOT PAY FOR ARTICLES. Check Rod Library, use Interlibrary Loan, or reach out to your librarian for assistance.
  3. Google Scholar does not vet the journals it indexes and has been known to include predatory journals. It also includes links to school repositories which often include undergraduate research projects, which are not peer-reviewed. 
  4. Google Scholar sorts results by popularity, not relevance or date. 

When you use it, use it with your eyes wide open and always do three things:

  1. Access it through the Rod Library homepage, to also access UNI-accessible PDFs.
  2. Evaluate the results (including checking the credibility of the journal in which the article was published).
  3. Use Google Scholar IN ADDITION to other databases, not in replacement of them. 

Rod Library Google Scholar search bar