Research Guides: TESOL: Find Sources

Find Sources

Journal Articles
Books

a stack of scholarly journals on a table, including the Journal of Interactive Marketing Also known as "Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles" or "Research Articles," these are

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
- "Peer review" means the article is approved by other experts before publication
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

Find Articles:

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources.
Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text brings you coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks.

Full List of TESOL Databases

Books on a shelf and a person reading on a kindle Unlike journal articles, books:

Are written on a broader, general subject
May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
Contain less recent information

You may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book! Find relevant information quickly by reviewing chapter titles or checking the index (back of the book).

Find Books

OneSearch (Rod Library) This link opens in a new window
UNI's online catalog
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
More than 170,000 books on subjects including Art, Business and economics, Education, Language, Literary criticism, Medical, Performing arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political science, Religion, Social science, Technology and engineering
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas, sheet music titles and reports.

Book Recommendations

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Keith Brown (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080442990
Encyclopedia of Language and Education by Ruth Wodak (Editor); David Corson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780792345961
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by David Crystal
ISBN: 9780631226635