Free Digital Collections - HIST 6040 - Readings in History: Witchcraft in Colonial America - Research Guides at University of Northern Iowa

Secondary Sources - Databases for Journal Articles

On this page, you can find a few "best bets" indexes and database that point to recent (secondary) scholarly journal articles. Click here for a full list of History databases available through Rod Library.

JSTOR
Narrow by "Articles" --- Set publication date to publications after 1980. --- Set Journal Filter to "History"
Project Muse
A complement to JSTOR. Project Muse covers the most recent five years of scholarship. Limit search results by "Content Type = Journals - Articles" and "Research Area = History."
Cambridge University Press (Cambridge Core)
Focus your search results by limiting publication date to articles published after 1980. Additionally, limit "Content Type" to "Articles" and limit "Subject" to "History."
Oxford University Press (Oxford Journals)
Limit search results by "Article type = Research Article" and "Subject = Arts and Humanities" … then click on History

Secondary Sources - Databases (Catalogs) for Locating Books

The following are indexes and database that point to recent (secondary) scholarly books.

Ebook Central
Consider using Advanced Search for more focus. Limit your search to books published after 1980.
OneSearch (Rod Library Catalog)
Print and online books owned by Rod Library. After conducting your search, limit your results to books and publication dates after 1980.
WorldCat
Union (combined) catalog of university and public library catalogs.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
Consider using Advanced Search for more focus. Limit your search to books published after 1980.

Digital Archives

These free digital archives are an excellent resource for locating additional primary sources to add context to your coursework. Some secondary sources may be available through these archives as well.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
More than 300 different digital collections. Limit your search by Subject or Format.
HathiTrust
Access books, magazines, and journals published prior to 1930. HathiTrust Advanced Search offers a sophisticated search interface that allows for truncation and Boolean Operators.
Internet Archive
Over 10 million digitized texts. Internet Archive also provides access to archived videos, images, and audio files.
Digital Public Library of America
Nearly 30 million archived images, texts, videos, and sounds. Collection strengths include American Civil War, Aviation, Baseball, Civil Rights, Food, Immigration, Photography, and Women in Science.