HIST 3000 - Witches and the Witch Craze in Early Modern Europe and America - McNabb

Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Our dedicated thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions to inform and inspire." --- europeana

Use the Publication Date limit to search for primary sources from the 1600s ad 1700s.

Search the full text of over 30 million books - full view prior to 1926 and limited preview afterwards.

Use the option "Advance full-text search" and then limit the "Date of Publication" using the "Between" option to find primary sources from the 1600s and 1700s.

HathiTrust contains millions pre-1926 volumes (books and magazines). HathiTrust also more recent public domain government publications. HathiTrust offers two different sophisticated search interfaces - Advanced full-text search and Advanced catalog search - that allow for truncation and Boolean Operators.

Consider changing the search option from "Select a Field" to "TX All Text" to increase your search results.

Search for primary sources from 1684 to 1850.
British and American newspaper and magazinearticles.

This document collection includes various documents relating to the witch craze in 17th century England. It allows students and teachers to develop their own questions and lines of historical enquiry on the nature of beliefs and behaviours, the role of the authorities and legal restraint, attitudes of communities or the role of women in society.

Welcome to the companion website for The Witch-Hunt in Early Modern Europe and The Witchcraft Sourcebook, both by Brian P. Levack. Together, these two books provide a thorough introduction for students of witchcraft and the new companion website provides additional invaluable resources for those wishing to further their studies.

On this website you will find:

An interactive map showing the geographical spread
of witch-hunts and witch trials across Europe and North America
An easy-to-use timeline outlining the key events in the history of witchcraft
A video interview with the author discussing the study of witchcraft and witch-hunting
An extensive bibliography to guide students in their further reading
An image gallery
A glossary explaining the key terms in the history of witchcraft