Skip to Main Content

HIST 4610 / 5610 - English History since 1688 - Connors

Primary and secondary sources owned by Rod Library. Digital archives.

Historical Abstracts (secondary)

   

   

JSTOR (primary/secondary)

  Find secondary sources written by historians by checking the "History" option towards the bottom of the JSTOR search page. Be sure to search only for scholarly works written after 1985 so as to pull from the most recent historiographic era of research.

 

To search JSTOR for secondary sources - slide down the search page and check the box for History.

Project Muse - Cambridge & Oxford University Presses (secondary)

  Search Project Muse for secondary sources written by historians. Limit your search results to by clicking on U.S. History found within the Research Area options in the left-hand column of the search results.

After obtaining search results focus Project Muse by clicking on the "Research Areas" option and choosing U.S History (or other fields or sub-disciplines of History).

             

Also consider:

              

Poole's Guide 1802-1906 and Reader's Guide 1890-1982 to Periodical Literature (primary)

              Poole's Index is a print index to nineteenth century periodical literature. Poole's index is found on the first floor of the Rod Library in the UNI Index/Abstract section.                             Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature - Covers 1890 to Present

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1906

Available in Print at UNI Index/Abstract AI3 .R48
(First Floor - Library Basement - Map Below)
 

Scanned Copies Available via HathiTrust

1802-1881 A-J (part 1)

1802-1881 L-Z (part 2)
 

1882-1886 Volume 2 (First Supplement) A-Z

1887-1891 Volume 3 (Second Supplement)  A-Z

1892-1896 Volume 4 (Third Supplement) A-Z

1897-1901 Volume 5 (Fourth Supplement) A-Z

1902-1906 Volume 6 (Fifth Supplement) A-Z

Reader's Guide Retrospective (database)  1890-1982
 

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (print) 1900-2003
UNI Index/Abstract AI3 .R48

​Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide
UNI Index/Abstract AI3 .R479

 

If published before 1925 use HathiTrust 
 

If published after 1924 use the Journal Search link 
on the Rod Library website to get the call number - 
then locate the magazine article downstairs.
 

If we don't own it - request through interlibrary loan.

 

Location of Print Indexes
(First Floor - Rod Library)

Poole's and Reader's Guide Indexes to Periodical Literature - First Floor - Rod Library                            

                     

Palmer's Index to "the Times" Newspaper - aka "London Times" (primary)


HathiTrust - Digital Archive of Magazines and Book		 Print Indexes - Palmer's index to the Times - London Times              

Digital copies of
Palmer's Index to the Times (London Times)


Online via HathiTrust


Covers 1790-1922

Print version of
Palmer's Index to the Times (London Times)
 

To the right of the Reader's Guide
1st Floor (basement)
UNI Index/Abstract AI21 .T455
​
Covers 1790-1941
Contact Us | Visit Us | Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion | Privacy Statement
Copyright © 2017, Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa. All rights reserved.