Research Resources - HIST 4610 / 5610 - English History since 1688 - Connors - Research Guides at University of Northern Iowa

Where the References live in Rod Library

Location of biographic reference works - third floor of the Rod Library (The Stacks)

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (newest edition in Reference) --- Dictionary of National Biography (older in Stacks) by Leslie Stephen (Editor)
Call Number: UNI Reference DA28 .D4 O95 2005 --- UNI Stacks DA28 .D4 1900
Publication Date: 1900 - 2005
"The Dictionary of National Biography is designed to supply … full, accurate, and concise biographies of all noteworthy inhabitants of the British Islands and the Colonies … from the earliest historical period to the present time." -- The Reference Catalog of Current Literature - J. Whitaker & Sons - 1902

Burke's Peerage - Burke's Genealogical and Heraldic History of the Peerage, Baronetage, and Knightage
Call Number: UNI Reference CS420.B85 (main floor) and & UNI Stacks CS420.B85 1967 (third floor)
ISBN: 9781579580834
Publication Date: 1967, 1978-2003
"Gives a genealogical account of the families of the Peers and Baronets of the realm." -- The Reference Catalog of Current Literature - J. Whitaker & Sons - 1902

The Concise Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: UNI Stacks DA916 .C7 1970
ISBN: 9780198653059
Publication Date: 1992-10-22
Providing details of over 30,000 lives, the original Dictionary of National Biography was published between 1885 and 1900.

Dictionary of British Cartoonists and Caricaturists by Mark Bryant; Simon Heneage
Call Number: UNI Stacks NC1470 .B78 1994
ISBN: 9780859679763
Publication Date: 1994
A reference dictionary of British cartoonists and caricaturists.

A Dictionary of Irish Biography by Henry Boylan
Call Number: UNI Stacks CT862 .B69 1970, 1978, 1998
ISBN: 9781570982361
Publication Date: 1998
The product of 25 years of research, this new edition of The Dictionary of Irish Biography features a Glossary, illustrations, and 1,700 brief biographies of the Emerald Isle's most distinguished citizens from 400 A.D. to the present. 150 photos.